WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

William Butler Yeats reads for you

I came across a recording of W.B Yeats reading “The Lake Isle of Innisfree” and thought I’d put a little background ambiance to it. This is one of my early GarageBand efforts, made strictly with Apple sound loops. I hope it sounds good on your ‘phones!

4 comments on “William Butler Yeats reads for you

  1. Kevin Brennan
    December 31, 2016

    Reblogged this on WHAT THE HELL and commented:

    To end what seems like a real sui generis year (I hope), I’m dusting off this version of “The Lake Isle of Innisfree” by W. B. Yeats that I put together a few years ago. Seems to capture the mood.

    That’s Billy himself doing the incantation. And you can read along with him here: https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/lake-isle-innisfree

    Happy New Year everyone, and may 2017 bring us all a return to calm.

  2. pinklightsabre
    December 31, 2016

    That’s wicked cool, though one can’t hear the words so well it reminds me of what I like about my favorite singer Elizabeth Frasier, from Cocteau Twins, more the sounds coming through him than my ability to make out the words. Cool, warm synth you brought in there just before the oration starts– I like that. I think the sound of it makes me want to pee though.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 31, 2016

      Ha. Yes, it’s on the wet side, isn’t it. It rains a lot in Innisfree, I bet …

      • pinklightsabre
        December 31, 2016

        It adds to the ardor.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2013 by in Et alia, Writing and tagged , , , , .
