WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

One of these days he might be in your town

Saw this man in concert last night. Leo Kottke. He’s one of my earliest musical heroes and still going strong at 67, but he’s also hilarious. As he tunes up for each number, he wanders through tales from his past or philosophical wonderments that keep the crowd in stitches, always delivered in his granular baritone that he once described as “geese farts.” But this is the man who sings “Pamela Brown” and “Corrina Corrina,” and his voice is perfect for them.

I think I first saw him when I was 18, then again when I was about 33. Now I’m 56, and this time was the best. I know much more about the guitar than I did in those earlier days, so I could appreciate his technique and skill better, but more than that, I’m aware now of the beauty there is in a continuous thread that runs through our lives. It is more than a nostalgic pleasure. Each such thread is part of the fabric of identity.

6 comments on “One of these days he might be in your town

  1. Dave
    May 19, 2013

    Awesome. Just missed the opportunity to see him. Wish I had. I’m a fellow guitar player (own a Martin HD28). I only wish i could play as well as Leo does.

  2. L. Marie
    May 19, 2013

    Thanks for that! For some reason, I was expecting a gravelly, whiskey voice. But his voice is very smooth and neat like scotch I guess. I really enjoyed that song. What a lovely evening you must have spent.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 19, 2013

      Sadly, he’d never win American Idol. Why can’t we have voices with character?

  3. 1WriteWay
    May 19, 2013

    OMG … he’s still alive? … no, wait, he’s not much than us … oh, crap … well, thank goodness he’s still around because I only remember listening to him back in the 70s and 80s. Guess the question is: Where have I been??? Thanks for posting. I’m thoroughly enjoying his lovely voice and guitar playing again 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 19, 2013

      I can’t imagine what his life has been like since I first saw him back in ’75. And yet he has this remarkable humor. Glad you liked.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2013 by in Et alia and tagged , , , , .
