WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Milk, cream, and alcohol Saturday

That’s what John Lee Hooker’s doctor told him to take, so he could get him some rest. And when this man looks you in the eye and tells you how it serves him right to suffer, you think some milk, cream, and alcohol might be just the thing for him. He needs some rest.

(Aren’t you glad the Seattle Folklore Society had the vision to get this on film?)

6 comments on “Milk, cream, and alcohol Saturday

  1. Cordelia
    July 20, 2013

    LOVE!!!!

  2. Kevin Brennan
    November 26, 2016

    Reblogged this on WHAT THE HELL and commented:

    Another one from the archives. For some reason this post gets looked at a lot, even though it’s more than three years old. People like the sound of milk, cream, and alcohol, I guess …

  3. pinklightsabre
    November 26, 2016

    Liked that Van Morisson record he did with Hooker (Too Long in Exile?). Can’t remember. Can be touch and go though, those sober Van records.
    Hey, thought about you this morning for some reason as I had my guy friends over to celebrate my birthday (next week) and they brought me some records, and one was All Things Must Pass. That sad look of George on the cover, perfect. And the record for some reason has a handwritten note in it (was used): it’s some guy’s handwritten report about 17th-century Scotland (he got a C+) and on the back, what I thought might be song lyrics from the record but it’s original poetry, a lot of waxing about the lord, and he misspelled “ruby” lips with an extra ‘B’ that made it look rubbery. Funny. Or not, I don’t know. I need a nap. Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 26, 2016

      How wild. I just listened to All Things this morning! Something tickled me to hear “Run of the Mill” after about thirty years. There are some great songs on that record, but the line about “weeping Atlas cedars” really got to me this time. I still have my original LP, but the box is falling apart …

      I heard that Morrison/Hooker record a few months ago. Pretty good stuff.

      • pinklightsabre
        November 26, 2016

        That is wild! Psychic network man! I’ll have to play that song tonight, thanks for the inspiration.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2013 by in Et alia, Music and tagged , , .
