WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

A handy-dandy fiction-writing tool: The thirty-six dramatic situations

Cnops+107_0724

The fiction-writing process

Might be a good idea to review these before beginning a new novel. Focus the brain.

Not sure if Yesterday Road falls easily into any of the scenarios listed here, but parts of it certainly come close. A lot of this sort of thing must be archetypal and in our neurons, so I don’t sweat it…

You? Do you like having a specific model in mind when you start down that long road of writing a novel?

8 comments on “A handy-dandy fiction-writing tool: The thirty-six dramatic situations

  1. sknicholls
    January 5, 2014

    With “An obstacle to love” my book fit because of the interracial relations. There was also an element of “sacrifice”.

    I can see many themes in my various WIPs (TNTC at this point.). Maybe because I am an amateur hobby writer and not a professional writer I don’t look for a “fit” to any particular model. Also, because I am a bit of a rebel, I push against the current.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 5, 2014

      Same here, but by the same token it’s not a bad idea to have a loose, familiar infrastructure to a book. Readers need to be able to recognize what a particular story is, if only so certain anticipations can be set up.

      • sknicholls
        January 5, 2014

        I totally failed at that with my book. It is historical fiction in some ways, but contemporary fiction in others. In fact, I am writing a post about my genre dilemma as we speak.

  2. John W. Howell
    January 5, 2014

    Cool beans. I like these.

  3. ericjbaker
    January 6, 2014

    I never remember to think of these things when I’m writing. Oh well. I just drag out the word “experimental” and it all works out.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 6, 2014

      Perfect. “Unclassifiable” is useful too. “Unique!” “Hard to pin down!” “What is this?!!”

      • ericjbaker
        January 6, 2014

        “Banned in 31 Countries!”

        That’s the marketing blurb I’m hoping for.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , , .
