WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Beware Unreal Expectations

These ideas are much on my mind as I enter the third month of Yesterday Road’s availability. Francis is spot on: a long-term view is the only way to approach this business (if you want to stay sane, that is!).

disappearinginplainsight

DSC_0542

With the year-end looming, I thought a productive exercise would be to  reflect on the past year – my first as a self-published author.

I came to fiction writing with pretty decent chops in the reading and writing departments – I’ve been a lifelong reader and I’m the author of a number of academic articles. Aside from the obvious growing pains that came with switching from nonfiction to fiction, writing my debut novel was nothing short of exhilarating. Then the rubber hit the road as the expression goes. I decided to self-publish, even though I had no experience with or understanding of the ins and outs of promoting and marketing a self-published book. The learning curve has been a steep one.

If you’re lucky, a few kind people will give you some far-from-glamorous advice early on in the self-publishing journey. It will go something like this – you have to…

View original post 720 more words

2 comments on “Beware Unreal Expectations

  1. francisguenette
    January 5, 2014

    Huge thanks for the reblog, Kevin. We’ll definitely keep this dialogue going.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 5, 2014

      My pleasure, Fran. And yes, the angst will carry on. 😁

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2014 by in Publishing.
