WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Twitter hacking alert

Yelling

We watched Ed Wood last night, so the words, “Bevare, bevare!” are fresh in my mind.

My Twitter account got hacked this morning by one of those “get more followers” outfits, and I’ve spent way too much time cleaning up the mess. If you get a tweet or an email from me with a link to this thing in it, delete immediately.

I hope I haven’t already caused anyone any inconvenience.

That is all.

15 comments on “Twitter hacking alert

  1. 1WriteWay
    January 10, 2014

    Thanks for the warning!

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 10, 2014

      Now I feel paranoid!

      • 1WriteWay
        January 10, 2014

        OMG, I got one of those tweets! Trust me, I can smell a scam. No way would I have clicked on that link, even if I hadn’t seen your warning. I know you wouldn’t send me anything like that. Those bots picked the wrong man to hack πŸ™‚

      • Kevin Brennan
        January 10, 2014

        I just hope there’s no lingering effect. I’m blocking all the bogus followers, deleting all my cookies, doing an hours-long virus scan — the whole 9 yards.

        Grrrrrrrr!πŸ‘Ί

      • 1WriteWay
        January 11, 2014

        That is frustrating but definitely you’re doing all the right things. I have to admit though, I kind of enjoy blocking bots from my Twitter account. It gives me a sense (illusion) of power πŸ™‚

  2. change it up editing
    January 10, 2014

    I received a DM from “Kevin Brennan” and immediately suspected you’d been hacked–definitely NOT your style! Sigh . . . the joys of the digital age, huh? Hope it didn’t cause you too much trouble. Why can’t hackers ever do something constructive like write glowing reviews for your books? πŸ˜‰

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 10, 2014

      I like the review idea! Maybe we could develop that ourselves… 😈

  3. ioniamartin
    January 10, 2014

    Saw that. Happened to me last year. So sorry. It is a mess. Deleted.

  4. J. S. Collyer
    January 11, 2014

    No inconvenience caused, Kevin. I usually find those hacks quite easy to spot and never click on a link unless I’m sure it’s from the person it’s supposed to be. I knew it wasn’t you because you use proper English and are a decent conversationalist πŸ˜‰

  5. John W. Howell
    January 11, 2014

    Hum. Will have to look back, but don’t think so. Sorry for the mess.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 11, 2014

      Don’t worry about it if you haven’t seen weirdness on your Twitter account. It’s very obvious.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2014 by in Et alia and tagged , .
