WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Gettin’ mad at Smashwords and Sony Reader Store πŸ˜‘

Yesterday Road has been out since late October, but it still hasn’t appeared in Sony’s catalogue. I’ve contacted Smashwords five or six times now, and they have been unable to explain the situation or alleviate it (though they were able to get Kobo on board a few weeks ago).

Folks, this is one problem with self-publishing and its free distribution services. I can imagine Smashwords getting prickly with me at some point and asking, “And how much did you pay us to get your book into all these listings?” Nada. Oh, I see. You really do get what you pay for!

But in actual fact, we do pay Smashwords. Every time we sell a book through one of their partners, they get a cut. So there is some level of fee-for-service here. Still, what they provide for pennies on the copy would likely cost a crapload if you went through a paid distributor. One must not look a gift horse in the mouth.

One can be pissed enough, though, to look elsewhere for his next book. I’m thinking Draft2Digital might be a good alternative.

Question: Does anyone out there in WordPress land have experience with D2D? I’d love to hear your story, especially if you’ve also used Smashwords in the past.

Or, has anyone uploaded a book individually to each retail site, jumping through the various formatting hoops to do it?

Inquiring minds want to know!

By the way, I just discovered, and have now been listed on, AUTHORSdB. My author page is here, and here is the page for Yesterday Road.

9 comments on “Gettin’ mad at Smashwords and Sony Reader Store πŸ˜‘

  1. 1WriteWay
    January 12, 2014

    I’m not impressed with Smashwords as a reader, although it’s nice to have an alternative to Amazon. My gripe is I can’t post book reviews there unless I actually buy the book from them. Shame, shame, shame.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 12, 2014

      I do think Smashwords is resting on its laurels, as one of the first in the game. The site itself feels a bit low-rent, and I’m not sure its name on my book is doing me any favors. (They require you to say “Smashwords Edition.”)

      Hoping D2D is a step up!

  2. John W. Howell
    January 12, 2014

    My publisher tells me Sony etc will be six weeks. One thing I have learned is patience. AuthorsdB is a must. Good job

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 12, 2014

      Hoping AuthorsdB can work some magic, John…

      • John W. Howell
        January 12, 2014

        They tweeted that I was in the top 100 author list. Thought that was nice

  3. sknicholls
    January 12, 2014

    Great Kevin! I have not heard about this until now.

  4. donaldbakerauthor
    January 12, 2014

    Honestly, I am wondering if skipping smash isn’t a good idea for me. Like you, I have surveyed the site and ‘low rent’ is a good description. There are other options out there and maybe number two tries harder.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 12, 2014

      Yeah, I think there must be a better way, and savvy authors will find it… 😎

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , , , .
