WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Nod to the Men (writers)

What a pleasure to have stumbled upon this earlier today! Thank you, Lesleigh!

Of Words and Writing

After going through the classics all up through high school, I could not find a single male author I liked. I do keep trying, yet invariably stop part way through each book. Writing is horrible, or just so technical that it stops being a novel. Plots are bad. And if a woman is involved in the story- my god, even worse. Dry, robotic, and in some way insulting.

I keep trying.  I’ve got to be picking out the wrong books, rather than it being purely that they’re male writers. Books should be gender-blind, right? A good book is a good book, regardless of who writes it. I’m trying to be a broad-perspective reader to compliment my author skills, reading as much self-published as I do traditional, becoming (slightly) less picky of genres, more open-minded, and delving into experiences I wouldn’t normally relate to. But damn, where are some good male…

View original post 697 more words

4 comments on “Nod to the Men (writers)

  1. donaldbakerauthor
    January 14, 2014

    I have a similar issue with women writers in the mystery/suspense genres. Other genres, no problems.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 14, 2014

      I guess I don’t have a problem with the gender of a writer. It’s the writing of the writer that makes or breaks. 😉

      • donaldbakerauthor
        January 14, 2014

        No, not at all. I don’t have a problem with the gender. I find it odd that in the mystery/suspense genre the male writers seem to appeal more to what I am looking for in that kind of read. But, it’s my taste in mystery/suspense reading, I fully admit that.

      • Kevin Brennan
        January 14, 2014

        True. It’s all about taste… To each his/her own!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2014 by in Publishing.
