WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Jennifer Egan is my new hero

Boy, do I love Jennifer Egan after watching this. She hits on a number of ideas about writing that I also hold, but two of them really hit home with me: one, that this ought to be fun; two, there’s nothing preventing a writer from doing something different each time out.

I’ve been working on a couple of interviews lately, and in one of them I went into the variety of material I have in my writing locker — everything from chick lit (soon to come) to historical novels to dystopian to a thriller. And the thing that Egan brings to her writing is precisely what I hope to do with each of these projects. A fresh approach, something unique, something provocative, new, and fun.

I haven’t read A Visit From The Goon Squad yet, but it’s shooting up my TBR list with a bullet after this interview. Part of the book is done in PowerPoint, believe it or not!

By the way, anytime someone complains that female writers aren’t taken seriously, I’m going to say two words. Jennifer. Egan.

9 comments on “Jennifer Egan is my new hero

  1. John W. Howell
    January 21, 2014

    I really enjoyed this. Thanks

  2. donaldbakerauthor
    January 21, 2014

    Her thoughts on time and change are very insightful and accurate!

  3. donaldbakerauthor
    January 21, 2014

    What a great challenge for a writer, to do something new each time out. Gets you thinking.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 21, 2014

      And getting us thinking is the whole point, eh?

      By the way, congrats on the Huffington piece!

  4. 1WriteWay
    January 22, 2014

    Thanks for this, Kevin. I do like much of what she said, especially about writing being fun. I’ve seen Egan on The Colbert Report and she is definitely a fun person as well. I haven’t read A Visit from the Good Squad yet; it was one of those books that received so much hype that I shied away from it. I would look at it from time to time when browsing at B&N, but it seems to be one of those books that I would have to be “in the mood” for, and I haven’t yet been. I am intrigued by the idea of a chapter written in PowerPoint. In my line of salaried work, I’ve done so many PowerPoints, whether for oral presentations at a conference or in-house seminar or college assignment. I’ve often felt like I was telling a story with my PowerPoint slides, albeit, most often, a story of how data can be joined and then analyzed. Exciting stuff.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 22, 2014

      Same here, vis-a-vis Goon Squad. I read a sample and then just let it sit for some reason.

      I like the idea of a PowerPoint story. Or maybe a story or novel could be written using MindMeister, which I wrote about today. http://wp.me/s3sx1Q-neato Maybe it’s time for someone to shake up the paradigm!

      • 1WriteWay
        January 22, 2014

        You be the man for that 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , , .
