WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Naming rights

A great character name has turned up in my spam file. Feel free to use it, writers! I make no claims on it:

Capt. Lamory Marden

6 comments on “Naming rights

  1. ericjbaker
    January 29, 2014

    The nature of my job requires that I see the names of strangers many times a day. At least once or twice a week I come upon the most awesome literary names you could imagine. But they are actual people and I can’t use them. I have to figure out the legal ramifications. Some are painful to pass up.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 29, 2014

      That’s too bad, but I’ve also had the experience of naming a character then finding someone who has that name after publication. Oh well! Not much of a problem, though, since the namesake will probably never hear of the book/story…

      • ericjbaker
        January 29, 2014

        Think of all the Harry Potters in the world. Doomed to a life of snarky comments and skeptical disbelief.

  2. donaldbakerauthor
    January 29, 2014

    Listen y’all, there was a local Indy radio jockey with my name from the 50’s an early 60’s. He’s long dead and i never even knew who he was . And people still make comments to me.

    • Kevin Brennan
      January 30, 2014

      And a guy with my name wrote the movie “Half Baked.” So proud to be associated with that.

  3. J. S. Collyer
    January 30, 2014

    *yoink*

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2014 by in Writing.
