WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Can we please stop it, please?

enhanced-buzz-6124-1358273055-3Selfies.

I think I’ve just about had it with selfies. Just as the word hits the Oxford English Dictionary, my ability to look at ‘em has waned to a new nadir.

For one thing, they’re almost always the same. I don’t even need to describe the sameness to you. I know you know what I mean. Especially the duets. When someone posts a selfie of a duet — like the one I spotted on Twitter last week with the caption, “Off to dinner!” — I say, “Who gives a sh&t?”

I just read that Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Keonig is all down with selfies. Sez: “For you to be able to take a picture of yourself that you feel good enough about to share with the world – I think that’s a great thing.”

I say: “Who gives a sh&t?”

It used to be that you’d enlist someone’s help in getting a quick shot of you and/or your companion. A passer-by. Complete stranger. “Could you take our picture?” But it wasn’t because selfies weren’t possible until the flippin’ iPhone came along. We could have done them. It’s that we chose not to. Seemed kind of gauche. Because it is gauche.

So. Selfies. Can we please stop it, please?

(Image via.)

16 comments on “Can we please stop it, please?

  1. Phillip McCollum
    February 3, 2014

    Thanks for letting me know Kevin. I will refrain from sending you my latest photo album of 500 selfies!

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 3, 2014

      I think I could probably appreciate their ironic value… 😜

  2. 1WriteWay
    February 3, 2014

    Ahh, so now you’re sporting a beard 😉 By the way, I’m getting ready to flood your Twitter feed with pink-hair selfies. …. Had you shaking there for a second, didn’t I 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 3, 2014

      I’d welcome your pink-hair selfies, Marie! Bring. ‘Em. On. 📷

  3. John W. Howell
    February 3, 2014

    Lookin’ good Kevin. Oops sorry I just put on my glasses and see it is not you. Bravo on the call to stop selfies. I will miss the old duck lips though.

  4. ericjbaker
    February 3, 2014

    I’m outraged that “ain’t” still ain’t a word after all these decades, but “selfie” got in there in a matter of months. Selfie doesn’t 1/100th of the dramatic flair exhibited by Ain’t.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 3, 2014

      Absolutely! And I’d be willing to bet that people won’t be saying “selfie” in 10 years. It will have proved to be a pathetic fad, though something worse will probably come along… Ain’t it a shame?

  5. sknicholls
    February 3, 2014

    I am horribly camera shy, so you don’t have to worry about selfies with me. It took all the courage I could muster to plant this pic in my gravatar and on my site. Truth is, it is seven years old, so it is rather dishonest. I really don’t think anyone cares. I like your red hound though. He’s cute.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 4, 2014

      How do you know the hound isn’t me?!

      • sknicholls
        February 4, 2014

        You have your handsome pic on the side over there, but then again, you could be a shape-shifter 🙂

      • Kevin Brennan
        February 4, 2014

        Awwww. 😘

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2014 by in Et alia and tagged , , .
