WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Here’s another one — a “100 books you need to read” list

100-books_billboard._V360859007_

Really. Why do they do it?

Or maybe a better question is, How do they do it? Honest to God, I just don’t get a “bucket list of books” that includes both Catch-22 and Valley of the Dolls. There are also a number of children’s books on this list, which is all well and good, but I’m not going to go back and read The Very Hungry Caterpillar at this late date. There’s no Faulkner on the list, no Dostoevsky, no Melville. Madame Bovary ain’t there, but you absolutely must read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao before you croak.

Anyway. Look it over. Marvel at its complete randomness.

Maybe this is some kind of test. Or joke. What do you think?

5 comments on “Here’s another one — a “100 books you need to read” list

  1. sknicholls
    February 7, 2014

    Amazon just posted their list of 100 books you need to read. Lots of variety on there, but variety is what fascinates me most, even the hungry caterpillars.

  2. 1WriteWay
    February 9, 2014

    It’s just marketing for Amazon. What other reason would there be for promoting such a list, especially if the majority are by current writers? (I haven’t looked at the list so I have no idea.) Actually, the only reading lists I ever cared about were ones for literature classes. Funny, I do remember that if I couldn’t take a particular class I wanted, I would often still ask for a syllabus so I could see the reading list. Sometimes I even bought the books 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2014

      You must have been the ideal student!

      I think you’re right about the marketing angle. What, they have extra copies on hand of Valley of the Dolls?

      • 1WriteWay
        February 9, 2014

        Those warehouses can only store so much 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , , , .
