WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Check for BS in your own text

BlaBla

I’m not making any insinuations about your text. Just sayin’. Maybe you should run it through this handy-dandy tool before you press Publish.

Just sayin’.

12 comments on “Check for BS in your own text

  1. sknicholls
    February 9, 2014

    I ran my book blurb and a few of my blog posts through it, and it showed “few indicators”, like .125 etc.. so i am not as a big a BSer as I thought I was. However, just out of curiosity, I ran a BIG blogger (20,000 followers) who tells people all about how to write, publish and market, and it scored nearly off the charts at 9.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2014

      Congrats on your low score! Reassuring, isn’t it?

      And I’m not at all surprised at the BIG guy’s score. I don’t know who it is, but I cringe when I read a lot of that kind of stuff and realize I’m actually being sold something.

  2. ericjbaker
    February 9, 2014

    I scored a .24 by sticking in a few paragraphs from my last blog entry. According to the meter, my writing is “acceptable.” I’ve never been so enthused about a response. People usually throw rotten fruit.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2014

      Acceptable is nothing if not perfectly adequate. You should be proud of yourself, young man!

      (I wonder what kind of score that statement would get…)

      • ericjbaker
        February 9, 2014

        My goal as a writer is to be wholly passable and not at all obviously poor. To be considered not particularly awful by my peers is a life’s ambition come true. I think I shall phone my mum now and tell her the good news!

  3. John W. Howell
    February 9, 2014

    I just did it and got a score of 0.03 and the note no bullshit. I love this.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 9, 2014

      You’re straight-shooter, John. Or you lied to the BS detector. Which is it?!

      • John W. Howell
        February 9, 2014

        Just threw in a story which was a total piece of fiction and poof! Guess we call it honest fiction

  4. Dave
    February 10, 2014

    With a .14, I’m not up to Eric’s level of BS, but apparently I BS more than John. I’m not sure what that means.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 10, 2014

      Maybe we should be trying for higher scores. Shouldn’t the point be to BS as much as possible without getting caught? 😈

      • Dave
        February 10, 2014

        LOL. One would think. Perhaps Eric should hold a class on improving levels of BS in writing. 🙂

      • Kevin Brennan
        February 10, 2014

        He’s nothing if not acceptable.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , .
