WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Original song Saturday

In which I channel Lucretius and Carlos Santana. Short & sweet — just like a good Stoic likes ’em!

As always, I’m no singer, but the song has words so I sung ’em.

Never let ‘em tell you ’bout original sin,
That ain’t the condition your condition was in
When you came into the world and you opened up your eyes,
You were clean as an egg and as pure as the sky, all right.

Never let ‘em tell you that you gotta believe,
‘Cuz the ones who tell you that, they got some tricks up their sleeve.
They wanna keep you down, wanna keep you afraid,
Wanna make you fear your fate if you never bowed and prayed, all right.

The nature of things, it ain’t what they’re tellin’ you,
Wake up, look around, and reject what they’re sellin’ you.
The facts of this life, they are simple and real,
And you don’t need no religion to tell you how you feel, all right.

Nothin’ is nothin’ to be afraid of.

It is what it is, and this is all there is,
No heaven, no hell, and there’s no magic Wiz,
That means there’s no pain at the end of the game,
It’s the same when you’re gone as before you even came, all right.

Nothin’ is nothin’ to be afraid of…

6 comments on “Original song Saturday

  1. ericjbaker
    February 24, 2014

    I need to get off my butt and record some of my stuff. All I’m missing is the home studio and the electronic drum set.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 24, 2014

      Well, all I have is Garagband, a mic, and an interface. Drums are tough, though. I’m stuck with loops and a primitive midi keyboard, but heck, I ain’t Cream, so it’ll do.

      I’d be interested in hearing your stuff too!

      • ericjbaker
        February 24, 2014

        I’d save a lot of time and money if I didn’t have this stubborn insistence on playing actual drums.

        Were you reading my blog when I posted this (super cheesy) video? I did the drums and guitars (and lyrics):

      • Kevin Brennan
        February 24, 2014

        Hey, that was good! I love the kind of 80s vibe, and who doesn’t like Godzilla imagery?

        And you, sir, are a multi-talented SOB. Drums AND guitar?

        BTW, what kind of axe is that? It fits the Japanese theme really well… 🎸

      • ericjbaker
        February 24, 2014

        Good eye! It’s an ESP, which is a Japanese company. This particular model is machine made in Korea, which is quite a bit less expensive than the hand-made Japanese ones. Same parts, wood, pickups, etc., but lacking the cachet.

      • Kevin Brennan
        February 24, 2014

        I hear you. I have a cachet-free Epiphone Les Paul. Which I love…

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2014 by in Music and tagged , , , , , .
