WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Blue bird blues — I hate my Twitter feed!

Twitter_logo_blueAbout_logoUsageAll right. I confess. I can’t abide my own Twitter feed.

To watch it for any length of time is to walk down a long corridor of blaring billboards, a rank of them on either side and 99% of them demanding that I buy whatever it is the tweeter is selling. It makes the Burma Shave signs feel like sweet whispers from your mom as you drift off to sleep.

It’s probably my own fault, since I gravitated to Twitter as a marketing tool myself, and over time my account has attracted followers who are either writers as well or people who provide services and products to writers. That means — and hey, I’m guilty as charged! — most of what flows up my screen is one kind of sales pitch or another.

I also suspect a lot of my followers are fake. Who knew?

If you’re a self-published writer like me, you might have had the same experience. You’ve probably also noted that your Twitter campaigns have little or no effect on sales. That’s because you’re trying to sell to other writers selling books to you.

I’ve had to go guerrilla on the blue bird. To avoid the chirping cacophony, I created a list of the people I actually do want to hear from. Mainly it includes folks I met through this blog, so be assured that I’m not talking about you when I complain about my feed. Now I have a nice, manageable group of friends I can follow in peace and quiet, and I don’t mind hearing about their books and tips and observations.

You can put together lists on Twitter in a snap. Check it out here.

Do yourself a favor. Cut down on the drone. Carve out a comfy little alcove for you and your best buds.

11 comments on “Blue bird blues — I hate my Twitter feed!

  1. John W. Howell
    February 24, 2014

    The Twitter help section looks great. Thanks. certainly I hope I’m on the list.

  2. sknicholls
    February 24, 2014

    I just started the twitter thing last week. Planning to use it for promo service, I deliberately followed a bunch of folk who called themselves readers. I did pitch, not knowing what else to do, and sold thirty one books. I have since been followed by and followed many authors and bloggers, but also people wishing to promote tweeting, marketing and writer services…in one week, the whole face of my twitter feed changed. I may have to go gorilla and unfollow the noise.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 24, 2014

      Maybe if I did an actual promo (i.e., a price discount) I’d see some movement there. Trying to avoid that, if possible.

      As for the ones who glom onto you when they see an opportunity, don’t worry. If you don’t follow back, they’ll unfollow inside a week (generally).

      • sknicholls
        February 24, 2014

        I made the mistake of following everyone who followed me, already had to unfollow many spammers. One lady tweeted three times a minute, a teacher. I wonder what her students think of her obsession?

        I had RC&R out 9 months before I did a dollar discount promo. This last promo, I made it 99 cents. It goes back to $3.99 ASAP. The way the market is for reader material, I probably will stop selling books until my ranking is around 1,000,000 and I am forced to do another promo.

  3. 1WriteWay
    February 24, 2014

    Great advice, Kevin! I can’t stomach my twitter feed, so I’m trying to use lists. I don’t think I have mine organized very well, though. Still working on that 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 24, 2014

      It does help, though, doesn’t it? I really don’t want to hate that cute little blue bird!

  4. ericjbaker
    February 24, 2014

    But Twitter always lets me know when famous people have tweets for me. Did you hear that? FOR ME! I am so, like, friends with Adam Levine and Kim Kardashian.

  5. francisguenette
    February 24, 2014

    I’m with you on the list thing. Discovered, quite recently, how to do this and it’s golden! If I have a minute and all I want to see is newsfeeds, click the list. If I want to check out other bloggers who tweet, click again. Makes the twitter stream bearable, for sure.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2014 by in Social media and tagged , , , , , .
