WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

More promotional news… meh

sisyphus-sign

I don’t want to become a broken record around here, but the more I do this the more I see that the best approach to marketing books online is caveat emptor. Where the writer, not the reader, is the buyer.

Somewhere in there I heard about a free promotion site called Awesome Gang. Maybe you’ve heard of them. Anyone who offers free exposure for indie writers is okay in my book, so bravo to Vinny O’Hare, who seems to run the shop, for doing what he does. However (and this isn’t a complaint about his service so much as a case of “I should have seen this coming”), for ten bucks you can purchase additional exposure by getting your book “featured” on the web page for two days and included in the newsletter. This in addition to Facebook, Twitter, and Google+ mentions.

The problem for me, and perhaps for anyone plunking down a tenner, is that Vinny doesn’t appear to limit the number of “featured” books each day. When you fill out the submission form and choose a date for your promotion, there’s no indication that the particular date already has a number of slots filled. Thus it’s a surprise when you find that your book sits in the tenth position, invisible to viewers unwilling to scroll that far down. Moreover, Yesterday Road didn’t appear on Facebook and Google+ until I wrote to Vinny to inquire.

To his great credit, he did move YR to the top of the page around 6 pm yesterday, took care of the other sites, added a tweet, and generally showed that he’s a mensch. I appreciate that.

Today, my second day being “featured,” YR is back down to the ninth slot, with today’s books taking over. As I might have expected.

Anyway, no sales as of yet. And I’m just about ready to conclude that this method of promotion is simply not right for Yesterday Road. Subscribers to sites like Awesome Gang, Bargain Booksy, Book Bub, Choosy Bookworm, et al., are probably looking for other stuff.

Which, like I said: “I should have seen this coming.”

9 comments on “More promotional news… meh

  1. Phillip McCollum
    February 25, 2014

    Sounds like authors will be feeling their way through this new paradigm for some time. I hope you strike upon something that pays off soon!

  2. John W. Howell
    February 25, 2014

    Trial and error seems to be the mode o’ the day. Thanks for keeping us updated

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 25, 2014

      You got that right. Easy to burn through the budget, though…

  3. sknicholls
    February 25, 2014

    Want to come stand with me in the little white lined boxes downtown and panhandle?

  4. francisguenette
    February 25, 2014

    You know what, Kevin? I don’t think it’s your book in particular. I really doubt anyone is doing any selling on these various sites. I put out $10.00 for one of those AskDavid pages – looks nice but no one is going there – why should they? I’m pumping away tweets right now with the IAN – which seems huge to me – result – nothing. Maybe it is a long haul thing – early days with IAN – still . . . You have to wonder if any of it matters at all. Keep slugging away, buddy. What else can you do?

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 25, 2014

      I’m sure you’re right, Fran. What are the odds that any significant bunch of readers might happen upon one of these sites, on the day your book is featured? Pretty much nil. It’s definitely a long-haul thing, but I have this nagging feeling that once my books drifts up toward the million mark on Amazon, it’ll be very difficult to attract attention.

      But as you say… There’s nothing to do but keep slugging away. 👊

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
