WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Bummer

Yelling

For whatever uncanny reasons, the organizers of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award have seen fit not to move Yesterday Road past the first hurdle. My pitch was not a strike.

So, sorry Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award — you’re dead to me!

But, if we are optimists, as we must be as writers, life goes on. Here’s an interview I did with Awesome Gang.

And, since I’m grumpy this morning, allow me to add that I’m really getting tired of the speculation on what happened to that Malaysian Airlines flight. Now the news-heads are wondering if the pilot trailed another plane to avoid radar detection, landed on some remote airstrip, and is … doing something … something something … with those 200+ passengers. What! To what end? Are Elvis and Lady Di there too?

Here’s a challenge. Let’s come up with some really creative ideas about what happened to that plane.

I’m thinking that Vladimir Putin had it hijacked and flown to Kazakhstan to distract the world from his misadventures in the Crimea. How ‘bout you?

12 comments on “Bummer

  1. Phillip McCollum
    March 19, 2014

    Not even past the first hurdle?! Wow, that is a huge surprise to me. Do you think it’s due to the fact that you’ve been published before? I assume they just sent a generic form response…

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 19, 2014

      They put out a list of the 400 “winners” in each category who move on to the next round. 400! Arrrggghhh!

      And since the judging is blind, no, it can’t have to do with prior publication. I think it’s the old bugaboo about what category to put certain books in, and because there was no “Literary Fiction” category, I had to go with “General Fiction.”

      Alas!

      • ericjbaker
        March 19, 2014

        These judged fiction events are dubious at best. I’ve seen way so many “My [family member/loved one] is died of [disease], and it taught me to live” stories win contests, that I question the where these judges are sourced from.

      • Kevin Brennan
        March 19, 2014

        I have a feeling the judges of the first round were trained ferrets serving as Amazon interns. It’s a thankless job.

  2. Dave
    March 19, 2014

    Sorry to hear about the Amazon award, Kevin. That sucks. On the MH370 front, I’m with you. The amount of coverage is ridiculous, and it’s all speculation. Sheesh.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 19, 2014

      Thanks, Dave. Makes me wish the contest organizers were on MH370!

      • Dave
        March 19, 2014

        LOL.

  3. ericjbaker
    March 19, 2014

    My speculation on what happened to the Malaysian Airlines flight: The plane never existed in the first place. The CIA hacked the aviation and airport computers to record a flight that never happened, going so far as to create a fake passenger manifest, so they can distract the world’s attention from Peru, where they sent Chuck Norris in on a one-man mission to retrieve the U.S. government’s robotic t-rex that was stolen by pro-Mussolini revolutionaries.

    This is probably the last comment I’ll ever get to make.

    They’re coming…

  4. 1WriteWay
    March 19, 2014

    Amazon is too big to recognize good fiction. They probably have some algorithm so that the lowest common denominator wins.
    As for the missing plane, just follow Courtney Love on Twitter. She tweeted a picture of the ocean with arrows pointing to the spot where the plane (supposedly) went down and also to the oil spill which resulted. Just sayin’ …

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 19, 2014

      I saw that! Chuckles galore.

      • 1WriteWay
        March 19, 2014

        My cousin posted a picture of Love’s tweet on Facebook, as in “WTF?” Courtney found the plane–we’re done 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2014 by in Et alia, Writing and tagged , , , , .
