WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Twitter’s birthday — Do you remember your first time?

About_logoUsage

Someone over at Flavorwire has commemorated Twitter’s eighth birthday the other day with a list of first tweets by twenty-five popular writers. I confess to not knowing half of them, but I am a hermit so my knowledge of the outside world is limited. Still, it’s nice to know that the first thing Gary Shteyngart said was, “hi, i’m gary shteyngart, a furry 39-year-old immigrant man trapped in a young dachshund’s body. LOVE ME!!!!!!!!!!!”

Skimming the list will give you minutes of pleasure.

More intriguing is this site, which finds the first tweet of anyone you want, if you know their Twitter handle. My first tweet?

Wow, I think Schopenhauer was right: “Compassion is the basis of morality.”

What a pompous ass!

13 comments on “Twitter’s birthday — Do you remember your first time?

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    March 24, 2014

    8 years of Twitter, huh? It’s come a long way.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 24, 2014

      I almost wish it hadn’t made it out of infancy… 😈

      • Charles Yallowitz
        March 24, 2014

        I agree some days. The 140 character limit and only being able to follow 2,000 people is a pain.

  2. Phillip McCollum
    March 24, 2014

    Wow, mine was boring…fretting over getting a call back on a job interview. But I got the job! And outsourced 7 months later! Weeeeeeee!

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 24, 2014

      Twitter documents the roller coaster ride. I’m not sure we all want our own history laid out for anyone to see, though…

  3. 1WriteWay
    March 25, 2014

    My first tweet was a retweet from Melville House: “For the record, if your list has Lee Child on it, it’s not “Indie”. Unless he takes up yarn-bombing sometime soon.” ha ha ha ha … Stephen King’s is pretty good: “My first tweet. No longer a virgin. Be gentle!”
    Kevin, if my husband had a Twitter account, he would have retweeted your first tweet 🙂 [Note: he (proudly) does not even have a Facebook account.]
    Here’s Andra Watkins’ first tweet: “finds herself firmly back in the saddle again.” Ironic since she is walking 444 miles.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 25, 2014

      Ha! You’re actually using this tool! (I confess, I looked up your first and thought, “She sounds cranky already!”) It’s funny how many people start off on Twitter going, Wow, I’m on Twitter!

      I think Andra’s first tweet should have been, “Get ready, ‘cuz here I come!”

      • 1WriteWay
        March 25, 2014

        Yeah, “cranky” be my middle name. (I think) I wish my first and last was Andra Watkins but, geez, can you imagine Andra as a cranky introvert?

      • Kevin Brennan
        March 25, 2014

        LOL. It ain’t in her genes. I’m jealous.

      • 1WriteWay
        March 25, 2014

        Me too but that’s my status quo.

      • 1WriteWay
        March 25, 2014

        Susan Orlean’s first tweet was “Reading.”

      • Kevin Brennan
        March 25, 2014

        Neil Gaiman’s was: I just opened my present from Dave McKean, The Big Fat Duck Cookbook. Heavy as a stone and beautiful. “See?” he said. “I do read your blog.”

        For what it’s worth.

      • 1WriteWay
        March 25, 2014

        Ha! I’m done. Past me bedtime and obviously past time to give my cats their bedtime snack. They are getting antsy 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2014 by in Social media and tagged , .
