WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

I write like… Jane Austen?

I write like
Jane Austen

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Here’s a fun way to delight, or torture, yourself for a while. Go to I Write Like, plug in some of your own writing, and learn what famous writer you take after. You get an instant of surprise and wonder, plus a badge you can stick into a web site or blog post. As you can see, apparently I — oh, the irony! — write like Jane Austen.

To put this in perspective, though, the excerpt I plugged into the analyzer was a first-person female character, and she was speaking in sort of an elevated diction describing someone she looks up to. I guess my inner Jane Austen was peeking out from between the lines.

When I plugged in a paragraph from a recent blog post, the analyzer said I write like Boing Boing’s Cory Doctorow. That seems more in line with my real oeuvre, though I like to say that he writes like me.

Have fun with it!

19 comments on “I write like… Jane Austen?

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    April 8, 2014

    Plugged in the first few paragraphs of my latest book and got James Joyce. Odd.

  2. Phillip McCollum
    April 8, 2014

    Hmm.. In one scene, I write like Margaret Mitchell. In another, William Shakespeare. What monster hath I wrought?

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 8, 2014

      To be or not to be? Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!

  3. rossmurray1
    April 8, 2014

    I write fiction like Stephen King and humour like… Cory Doctorow!
    Nutty but fun.

  4. tpolen
    April 8, 2014

    Isaac Asimov – good thing I like sci-fi!

  5. Dave
    April 8, 2014

    Fun. A couple of paragraphs from a short story came up as Stephen King. I can live with that. A few from my most recent blog came up as Cory Doctorow. I’ll assume that’s good, because I have no idea who he is 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 8, 2014

      King, eh? Your next book must be 900 pages long!

      Doctorow must be the Everyman of blogdom…

  6. John W. Howell
    April 8, 2014

    My next book comes up Ursula K. Le Guin. Can’t complain. Fun stuff.

  7. sknicholls
    April 8, 2014

    Mine said Theodore Dreiser for my last novel, Margaret Mitchell for my work in progress, and H.P. Lovecraft for my blog post. I can live with the first two, but I can’t see the horror on my blog. Is it that scary?

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 8, 2014

      I’m starting to think it’s random. The first paragraph of Yesterday Road got me Neil Gaiman.

      Hi @amandapalmer!

  8. P. C. Zick
    April 10, 2014

    WIP – H.G. Wells and my last novel, Margaret Mitchell. Hmmmmm. I vote for random.

  9. 1WriteWay
    April 11, 2014

    I plugged in an excerpt from a horror novel and got … drum roll … Stephen King! Then I plugged in a few paragraphs from my essay on Children and Compassion and got … drum roll … Stephen King! WTF? And I kept getting King even after exiting and re-entering the website. Maybe their default is Stephen King 🙂 Or they only have a few writers in their database. Still, it was fun while it lasted 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2014

      Definitely something fishy going on. I think it’s the Magic 8 Ball of writing analyzers.

      • 1WriteWay
        April 12, 2014

        OMG … I remember the Magic 8 Ball …

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2014 by in Writing and tagged .
