WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

4000 Vietnamese can’t be wrong — Vote for Yesterday Road!

Indie-Author-Land

Hey gang! Just a friendly reminder that The 50 Self-Published Books Worth Reading contest is still in progress, and you can vote for Yesterday Road here (or via the sidebar box). Also, over the weekend Indie Author Land sent out an email with all the nominees displayed with cover images and book descriptions, with YR right at the top! A coincidence? I think not…

Ominously, in the email, the sponsor reveals that “4000 votes cast in a single day from 2 computers in Vietnam have been deleted. It seems someone was trying to cheat in support of one book. Because we’re trusting people, we’re assuming it wasn’t the author himself.”

Just for the record (and despite the playful title of this post), (1) I don’t know a soul in Vietnam and (2) 4000 illegal votes for one book is ham-handed at best and I’d never authorize something like that in my behalf. Scout’s honor.

That said, I know I still need all the help I can get, so please take 22 seconds and vote. You can vote up to five times, and you have until May 18th.

6 comments on “4000 Vietnamese can’t be wrong — Vote for Yesterday Road!

  1. sknicholls
    April 28, 2014

    Are you sending out money to foreigners via Western Union? I am going to tell a true story about that on my blog today. Stop by and see if you recognize yourself.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 28, 2014

      Ha! If I am, I’m doing it in my sleep.

      Looking forward to your post…

  2. 1WriteWay
    April 29, 2014

    Yup, I voted again, and I agree with the sponsor that 4000 votes in one day from 2 computers is a tad suspicious 😉 Also, very cool that YR was at the top of the email you received from them 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 29, 2014

      Thank you, Marie! It’s hard to believe someone thought that scheme wouldn’t be detected… Shades of Watergate!

  3. Dave
    April 30, 2014

    I joined the 4,000 Vietnamese and voted for you. Now, what do I get?

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2014 by in Et alia and tagged , , .
