WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Today I think I’ll use… Aposiopesis

Library

It’s fun to use obscure literary and rhetorical terms that nobody knows for techniques that we use all the time.

Aposiopesis just means to stick a bit of silence into the middle of a sentence to highlight an idea or suggest that the speaker doesn’t want to say something. Handy little trick.

Go ahead and use it!

4 comments on “Today I think I’ll use… Aposiopesis

  1. Phillip McCollum
    May 1, 2014

    I think I caught Aposiopesis once. Burned like a…son of a gun.

  2. ericjbaker
    May 1, 2014

    If that is a photo of your writing space, I am super jealous.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 1, 2014

      No, it’s a pic of the master bath. Eat your heart out.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2014 by in Writing and tagged .
