WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

I wouldn’t want to belong to any club that would have me as a member

file000974080682

Maybe if this had been my cover, Yesterday Road would have been one of The 50 Self-Published Books Worth Reading. (Judging by the covers of the winners, that is.)

Alas.

28 comments on “I wouldn’t want to belong to any club that would have me as a member

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    May 25, 2014

    Covers like that do seem to be everywhere these days. Sorry you didn’t get into the top 50.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 26, 2014

      Thanks, Charles. Looks like I went swimmin’ in the wrong pond.

      • Charles Yallowitz
        May 26, 2014

        No harm in trying. Consider yourself a beneficial invasive species. πŸ™‚

  2. Pamela Beckford
    May 26, 2014

    It may also be why I haven’t read any of the other books

  3. 1WriteWay
    May 26, 2014

    I can’t believe what they listed as the 50 indie books worth reading. I thought you were in the running, at least in the top 10. So, what? Was there some kind of explosion of voting that blew YR off the list altogether? Anyway, given the “company,” perhaps it’s better that YR was not included. Consider this from the email I got when they announced the 50: “The range was breathtaking – from stories of new love, to sagas of new worlds.” Sorry, but the range was anything but breathtaking. As a reader, I’m very disappointed in the list over all, but then I’m not into extreme horror or erotic romance.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 26, 2014

      Well, as I understand how it worked, there’d be five winners from each of the ten categories. Last I heard, I was No. 6 in Literary, so I guess I never rose any higher than that.

      But putting literary fiction up against nine genre categories really makes the list look sleazy — 5 vs 45.

      Is this really what people want to read?!

      • Helena Hann-Basquiat
        May 26, 2014

        Kevin. A giant hug from me to you. I’m not going to accuse you of sour grapes because I know just how you feel. I’ve asked myself 1000 times “Is this really what people want to read?!”
        Sadly, the answer is yes. For every Yesterday’s Road there are 100 “Passion at Dusk” etc… For every American Beauty or Fight Club, there are 100 Fast and the Furious type movies.
        I keep reminding myself (and speaking my mind about it, and getting called a snob, or an elitist, or pretentious) and I’ll remind you to never mistake popularity for quality.
        Remember who your audience is — I had to re-learn this lesson just these past few weeks when I realized that the people I was trying to court, fit in with, or impress were really not my audience at all. They were the “popular” crowd, and I was trying to get them to read me, when really, they’d rather read each others’ gossip — which is the equivalent of what you’re talking about. Pick a setting, have two or three people show up and talk about wanting to fuck each other for about 100 pages, and then finally have them break the sexual tension and set up the sequel. Then put a chiseled physique on the cover (preferably in black and white — because that’s arty) and some hot pink or purple lettering and presto — you have a winner.
        As a woman, I find it ridiculous and demeaning how much this women’s erotica genre has become legitimized — it truly is the female equivalent to a skin mag, and you don’t see people reading these out in public, on the bus, in the airport. You don’t see Barnes & Noble setting up ten foot tall displays for SWANK magazine.
        I find the whole thing quite insulting to my intelligence.
        I would rather read something interesting than popular any day.
        Thus endeth the rant, darling.

      • Kevin Brennan
        May 26, 2014

        If you would please embroider that rant on a tea towel for me, I’d be eternally grateful. I want to read it every day.

      • Helena Hann-Basquiat
        May 26, 2014

        Oh, because I’m a woman, I embroider? Fucking pig!
        (kidding)
        (can you take a picture of your shocked face?)

        If I ever learn to heed my own advice, I’ll let you know.
        I’m good at giving it, not so great with believing it myself. I learn a lesson, and then, like a dog returning to vomit, make the same mistakes over again.
        Sigh.
        Tis the human condition, I’m afraid.

      • Kevin Brennan
        May 26, 2014

        Ha. My mistake.

        You could carve it with an X-acto knife on a large piece of scrimshaw, how’s that? Or mow it into the nearest alfalfa field and take a picture from a blimp.

        Better? 0_0

      • Helena Hann-Basquiat
        May 26, 2014

        =)

      • 1WriteWay
        May 27, 2014

        OK, I understand about the categories. Still, there were 5 in literary fiction on that list? Somehow those slipped by me. I’m thinking you might just be glad you didn’t get on the list. Strange company it would be πŸ˜‰

      • Kevin Brennan
        May 27, 2014

        Those 5 didn’t really stand out, did they?

        Yes, I’m feeling better about losing as the days go by…

      • 1WriteWay
        May 27, 2014

        Good because I’m thinking you didn’t really lose with this. Yes, you lost some time and effort that you could have spent elsewhere … but I’m not convinced that getting that badge would have felt so good after all. You, your writing, is so much better than that.

      • Kevin Brennan
        May 27, 2014

        Mwah! πŸ’–

  4. islandeditions
    May 26, 2014

    I had the same reaction when reading through the list of “winners” and didn’t see your name or Tim Baker’s, another favourite author. And you are correct! Better to not be on a list like that at all. I wouldn’t want you changing that cover of yours just to make it on to a list of like-covered books, either.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 26, 2014

      I was rooting for Tim too. And I think you’re right that it’s probably a blessing in disguise that we didn’t make it.

  5. John W. Howell
    May 26, 2014

    Well. Now we know what the reading public will vote for. I hate popularity contests since the winners reflect the quality level of the voters coupled with the hype that can be generated for votes. I thought the whole process was flawed and we can see how.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 26, 2014

      Yep. It’s too bad there wasn’t some kind of actual judging, as with real awards. Ta ta, Indie Author Land!

    • Helena Hann-Basquiat
      May 26, 2014

      YES! Remember that this is something voted upon — much like American Idol, etc… this isn’t the same as being peer-reviewed or judged by successful, respectable authors.

      • John W. Howell
        May 26, 2014

        Helena is so right. If it were a peer review you would have won.

  6. Jane Dougherty
    May 26, 2014

    You should have called your book ‘Torn’ or ‘Ripped’ or ‘Destroyed’ and hired the guy with the six pack, an out of work cowboy or the girl who throws her hair and that diaphanous white frock all over the cover. Then you’d have been in with a sporting chance.

  7. sknicholls
    May 26, 2014

    In no way reflects the quality of the work. I need not say more. {{{HUGS}}}

  8. ericjbaker
    May 26, 2014

    Note to self: Put a photo of a hunky man on the cover of my novel and hope the reading public doesn’t notice the dearth of hunky men in the text.

    • Kevin Brennan
      May 27, 2014

      Wait, are you suggesting that book covers should somehow reflect the contents of the book?!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged .
