WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Old friends

Partscover

How bizarre! The other night I had a strange dream in which I found myself in a vaguely familiar setting — pastoral, green, definitely Californian, but also working-agricultural. There were machines and implements and not-quite-visible people nearby, doing what they did every day and trying to teach me while they were at it. Then I realized where I was.

I was in my own novel, Parts Unknown. I was apparently a new hand on the Argus ranch right here in Sonoma County, and the people showing me the ropes were my own characters! I was on the verge of meeting my protagonist, Bill Argus, when my subconscious nudged my consciousness and said, Pretty cool, eh? I woke up.

What an odd feeling. No one in that book existed until I made them up, but now I’d reunited with them in their own netherworld.

Sheesh, I wonder if I’ve been doing this too long…

(Oh, this reminds me: you can buy Parts Unknown directly from me, and I will sign and inscribe it to your specs. If you order — via PayPal — let me know if you want the hardback or the paperback. Both are $4.99. What the hell.)

15 comments on “Old friends

  1. LindaGHill
    June 12, 2014

    I dreamed my characters once, while I was still writing the novel. The dream sequence ended up IN the novel. Cool, isn’t it?

  2. John W. Howell
    June 12, 2014

    I dreamed I had a new M6 BMW coup. Sheese. At least your dream gave you a pitch platform. I got nothing.

  3. Phillip McCollum
    June 12, 2014

    Cool! I’ll take a hardback! As for the inscription, I’ll leave that to your excellent and sometimes disturbing imagination (I mean that in only the best way…)

    • Phillip McCollum
      June 12, 2014

      Gah, I haven’t updated my Paypal address since I moved.. Shoot me an email when you receive the payment notification and I’ll give you the correct one.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 13, 2014

      Thanks, Phillip! You’re a gentleman and a scholar. And a lost Simpson’s character…

  4. ericjbaker
    June 13, 2014

    Very Vonnegut of you.

  5. P. C. Zick
    June 14, 2014

    It means you’re in it for good, Kevin! Congrats.

  6. 1WriteWay
    June 14, 2014

    You still have hardcovers! Me wants a hardcover! Your signature will do this time. I know, I know … I have the paperback, but hardcovers are my preference. Going off to buy it now …

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 14, 2014

      Marie! You devil! I’d have sent you one for your birthday or something if I’d known!

      Anyway, I prefer the pb because its cover is so much nicer-looking. They really phoned it in on the hb cover: brown is such an uplifting color. One of the drawbacks of traditional publishing is that the author usually has no say in the cover image. At least not on a first novel.

      I’ll try to get this in the mail today! I better not see it on Ebay in the next week or two. 😉

      • 1WriteWay
        June 14, 2014

        I remember your post about the covers. I just prefer hardcovers when they are available. I’m quirky in that I don’t mind (sometimes even prefer) to have multiple versions of the same book. At least when I have more than one copy, I’m more apt to share 🙂 (And I don’t mean Ebay …)

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , .
