WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Where has this woman been all my life?

OK, I admit it. I have a thing for girl French singers. I like Camille. I like Carla Bruni. I like Sandrine Kiberlain. I like Charlotte Gainsbourg. I like Clarika. But if you don’t count Edith Piaf, I never heard of the granddaddy of them all (if that’s the right phrase) until this week: Françoise Hardy. Look at her. Just look at her. She makes other yé-yé girls look like fishwives.

And what I really appreciate about her is that she has allowed herself to age with utter grace. No plastic surgery for her. Nothing but complete acceptance of who she is, and she can still sing. Her later stuff, with typically crystalline French arrangements, is superb.

It’s nice to discover new things. Even if they’re from fifty years ago.

8 comments on “Where has this woman been all my life?

  1. rossmurray1
    June 28, 2014

    Oh yes. For a contemporary version (mais quebecoise) check out
    Coeur de Pirate.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 28, 2014

      Very nice… but she has a funny French accent. (As if I can tell…)

      • rossmurray1
        June 29, 2014

        That’s Quebec French. Quite different. Like U.S. English compared to British.

      • Kevin Brennan
        June 29, 2014

        Or Canadian English to British, for that matter! 😉

  2. ericjbaker
    June 28, 2014

    On behalf of fishwives everywhere, I am offended by your comments.

    That was seriously filmed in 1965? It seems too contemporary stylistically. I know nothing.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 28, 2014

      I have nothing against fishwives. Did you read between the lines or something?

      And yes, ’65. It’s French. They’re way ahead of us in some areas…

      • ericjbaker
        June 29, 2014

        My father was a fishwife. His father was a fishwife. My great grandfather was a fishwife, and so are all my uncles and brothers. I come from a long line of fishwives. We’re every bit as lovely as Françoise Hardy!

        No, that can’t be right.

        Okay, Brennan. You win this round.

      • Kevin Brennan
        June 29, 2014

        You all may not be as lovely, but I’m sure you’re every bit as fragrant.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2014 by in Music and tagged , .
