WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

I’m entitled: vote on what I should call my new book

Titles

ALERT: DOODS! Over 30 views of the post and only 8 votes so far? Let’s fatten up this sample size!

That’s one of my more legible brainstorming sheets in my search for the elusive perfect title. You might remember that some Hollywood cat snatched the title I wanted to use for my upcoming book: Wish I Were Here. His is the less awesome Wish I Was Here, but that’s still way too close for comfort, so I put on my thinking cap and I’ve narrowed down the possibilities to the ones in the poll below.

Help me out and cast your vote for the one you like best.

Just so you know, I may not go with the title that wins the poll, but your votes here will help me see which ones have that certain je ne sais quoi. Don’t worry about the storyline — this is just to nail down a title that might catch a potential reader’s eye.

Here you go, and oh, feel free to comment on your vote so I know what elements appeal about your fave:

 

22 comments on “I’m entitled: vote on what I should call my new book

  1. ioniamartin
    June 30, 2014

    I can’t get the vote button to work, but I chose the final one.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 30, 2014

      Hmmm. Other votes are popping up, so maybe you have an ad blocker or something that’s in the way? In any case, I’ll put you down for “Let’s Skip To The Good Stuff.”

  2. I selected ‘The Occasional Soulmate’ because I like the way the words sound together. Also, I just read an article that said we can have multiple soulmates during our lifetime, and a SM doesn’t have to be human. Neat!

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 30, 2014

      Thanks, Theresa! I do remember being awfully attached to my hamster when I was a kid. Were we soulmates? Occasionally…

  3. John W. Howell
    June 30, 2014

    I did let’s just skip to the good stuff since it sounded like a good teaser.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 30, 2014

      Thanks, John. Teasers have to deliver, though, so I hope the book’s up to the task!

  4. Phillip McCollum
    June 30, 2014

    “The Occasional Soulmate” for me.. I enjoy oxymorons.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 30, 2014

      I enjoy all kinds of morons…

      • Phillip McCollum
        June 30, 2014

        I could make some self-deprecating joke, but I’m not sure I know how…

  5. ericjbaker
    June 30, 2014

    I need to know if the book features giant robot dinosaurs before I cast my vote. Because if it does, I don’t think any of these options is suitable.

    • Kevin Brennan
      June 30, 2014

      No robots, but there IS a large vibrating egg. Does that help?

      • ericjbaker
        June 30, 2014

        I made my vote, though I would have preferred “The Large Vibrating Egg” as an option.

      • Kevin Brennan
        June 30, 2014

        I’ll keep it off to the side just in case…

      • ericjbaker
        June 30, 2014

        All joking aside, “Let’s Just Skip to the Good Stuff” is a cool title and appeals to my sensibilities as a writer, if that matters. If I’m browsing at the bookstore, that’s the title that’s going to make me pick the book up and read the first couple of pages.

      • Kevin Brennan
        June 30, 2014

        The first couple of pages cost 24 cents. I take PayPal.

  6. 1WriteWay
    June 30, 2014

    Hmmm … I’m in the minority. Wake Me When We Get There was my choice. Maybe it has some subliminal meaning for me … I probably don’t want to know 😉

  7. donaldbakerauthor
    June 30, 2014

    I like love and I like circles. If I said Loving in Circles would you read something into it?

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2014 by in Publishing.
