WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Compadres: I need more votes for my book title!

I don’t think any good focus group manager would settle for making a corporate decision on ten data points. Might as well flip a coin! So if you haven’t already voted for one of the candidates for the title of my forthcoming novel, please take a tenth of a moment and do it now. And if you have voted, run the link by other potentially interested parties and ask them to pop by and chime in.

It’s possible that there are technical difficulties with the poll itself. If you have any trouble casting a vote, let me know, or vote by leaving a comment. I’d love to get twenty or thirty votes before closing the poll.

Thanks!

13 comments on “Compadres: I need more votes for my book title!

  1. islandeditions
    July 2, 2014

    While I prefer “Wake Me When We Get There” I voted for “Mister Impossible”, my second choice, mainly because longer titles tend to be shortened by sales people (reps and booksellers) and “Wake Me” just isn’t enough to do this book justice. (I hope you understand my reasoning here, Kevin.) Besides being concise, “Mister Impossible” is also a catchy, intriguing title and reminds me of your other titles, “Yesterday Road” and “Parts Unknown”.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 2, 2014

      Interesting, Susan! I hadn’t given that much thought. There might be something to be said though for breaking the “two-word title guy” pattern… 😉

  2. sknicholls
    July 2, 2014

    Can I change my vote. The more I read them, the more I like Mister Impossible. I had voted for Let’s just skip to the good stuff, because I thought it was amusing. But Mister Impossible is a better working title.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 2, 2014

      Consider it changed. Is your Mister Impossible vote reflected in the poll now, or did it keep you from voting twice? (Not sure what it does if you try…)

      • sknicholls
        July 2, 2014

        I did not vote again. Should I? Will it let me? I did not try.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 2, 2014

        No need. I’ll mentally add a vote for that one… Thanks!

  3. Tim Baker
    July 2, 2014

    Not knowing what the book is about I went with the title that would make me ask “Hmmm, now what could that be about?”

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 2, 2014

      I’m always intrigued by titles like that. You don’t want to give the whole story away on the cover!

  4. J. S. Collyer
    July 2, 2014

    Some good titles there, Kevin! I’d want to read the blurb on all!

  5. ericjbaker
    July 2, 2014

    Despite Susan’s sound business advice, I still stand by my original vote.

  6. 1WriteWay
    July 4, 2014

    I’m sticking with my vote too. Even if it’s shortened, Wake Me would get my attention, but perhaps I’m just weird 😉

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , , .
