WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

So many choices…but I have a new title for the book

file000796286691

I’ve landed on a title for my new book (formerly Wish I Were Here). The poll results were ambiguous. I’m going on gut instinct folks, and I hope you like it.

Wanna know what the title is? Click here.

Let me know what you think in the comments. Production begins…now!

23 comments on “So many choices…but I have a new title for the book

  1. John W. Howell
    July 10, 2014

    Well . . . It does beg the question, what is an occasional soulmate? So I guess I would want to find out.

  2. Charles Yallowitz
    July 10, 2014

    I like it. Makes me curious about the story.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 10, 2014

      Thanks, Charles! Making readers curious is half the battle. (Well, maybe not half, but a decent chunk of the battle anyway…)

  3. Yes! Mi favorito. I like the brain bending-ness of the two words together. Ya done good with the pickin’.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 10, 2014

      Thank you, Theresa! There is a nice “huh? wha?” factor here, so maybe a few extra peeps will take a look.

  4. Phillip McCollum
    July 10, 2014

    yeeeeeeeeeeeah! That one got my vote. You’re obviously a man of much class and gentlemanly refinement.

  5. sknicholls
    July 10, 2014

    I like it. Soulmates are forever and always, so an occasional one would intrigue me.

  6. Dave
    July 10, 2014

    Well, I didn’t vote for it, but I’ve got to admit that I kinda like it. As others have said, it makes you wonder about what the story might be, and that’s a good thing πŸ™‚

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 10, 2014

      I can’t wait to see what cover designer Max Scratchmann comes up with to make it even more intriguing!

  7. J. S. Collyer
    July 10, 2014

    They were all strong titles. You’re the one that knows the story, so you’re best to chose πŸ˜€ I really like this one

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 10, 2014

      Glad you like, Jex. Let’s hope it stands out in the crowd!

  8. ericjbaker
    July 10, 2014

    I’d read that!

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 10, 2014

      Yeah? Would ya pay to read it?!

      • ericjbaker
        July 11, 2014

        If it’s got beefcake on the cover.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 11, 2014

        How ’bout a cow and a slice of angel food?

      • ericjbaker
        July 11, 2014

        That might do it too. Who doesn’t like cows? That’s what I always say.

  9. 1WriteWay
    July 11, 2014

    Geez … among those signs is one for Tallahassee, Florida. Can’t escape this place even on the internet πŸ˜‰ I’ll admit I’m on the fence about the title. I *think* I would pick up a book with that title and read the back to see what it is about. But I *know* I would pick up a book with Kevin Brennan as the author. And, yeah, I’d pay for it πŸ™‚

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 11, 2014

      Titles are sort of eye-of-the-beholder things, eh? I’m trying to think more in terms of who might be reading this book — or who I can persuade to read it…

      I remember the last time I had an agent, and for both of the books she handled for me, she made me change the title. I loved both titles I already had, and didn’t really care for the ones she came up with. I figured she knew what she was doing, so.

      You made me smile at the end, there. πŸ˜‰

      • 1WriteWay
        July 11, 2014

        I’m glad I made you smile πŸ™‚ I’ve said before that I’m horrible at coming up with titles, but even as a reader, I’m not often persuaded by titles when I browse the bookstore. I am truly more persuaded by the author’s name or a book review. Not always. Just more often. But I’ve also said before that I am a weird duck. If both you and a majority of comments like the title you’ve chosen, then go for it. No doubt the title will grow on me πŸ™‚

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
