WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Braff blew it

-1

Not one to bask in others’ misfortunes, I’m finding it a little hard to hold back the schadenfreude over the early reviews of Zach Braff’s new flick, Wish I Was Here. The New York Times review is faint praise indeed, and Andrew O’Hehir at Salon went so far as to call Braff mediocre.

You might recall — because I won’t let anyone forget — that Braff snatched the title of my forthcoming novel for this project (though, as O’Hehir and I both pointed out, using the subjunctive, i.e., Wish I Were Here, would have been better!), and so I’ve had to change my title in order to dispel any notions that I ripped Braff off. Now, with these lukewarm reviews coming in, I’m really glad I didn’t hang on to that title…

I don’t wish Mr. Braff a poor outcome here. Heavens no. I’m just feeling a little smug that he didn’t do my title justice.

By the way, look for Occasional Soulmates in late September!

(Image via Cheezburger.)

10 comments on “Braff blew it

  1. rossmurray1
    July 18, 2014

    Huzzah the subjunctive!

  2. J. S. Collyer
    July 18, 2014

    Ha! I think it’s ok to be smug 😀

  3. ericjbaker
    July 18, 2014

    He did you a favor. “Wish You Were Here” is not nearly as good a title as “Occasional Soulmates.”

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 18, 2014

      Mine wasn’t Wish YOU Were Here, it was Wish I Were Here, but now that he’s spoiled it, I do feel kinda lucky…

      • ericjbaker
        July 18, 2014

        Oh. But perhaps other people would make my mistake as well, since the phrase leads one to fill in the mental blanks based on the first and last word. Either way, Occasional Soulmates is more intriguing and has more character. You win in the end.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 18, 2014

        You’re probably right. The first thing Marie thought was Pink Floyd.

  4. 1WriteWay
    July 19, 2014

    Yes, Pink Floyd was what came to my mind and that alone would make me pick up a book with Wish I Were Here as a title. I still like that title but you did dodge a bullet given the reviews of Braff’s movie. (And, frankly, I don’t wish him ill or well, just wish he would go away.) But Eric is right that with the different permutations of such a title (Wish I Was Here, Wish I Were Here, Wish You Were Here), people could mix up your title with others and you would be worse off if you had kept it. In any case, enjoy feeling smug. I would 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 19, 2014

      It’s true that people might have jumbled up the title in their heads, and that’s something that hadn’t occurred to me before. It was clearly a riff on Wish You Were Here, a la old postcards, not Pink Floyd, though you can never go wrong alluding to Pink Floyd. (Or maybe you can — it reveals my age!)

      Anyway. Onwards and upwards with Occasional Soulmates! I hope it can’t be confused with anything else. And I hope Zach’s next project isn’t something like “Temporary Soulmates”!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
