WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Who’s the bossa the beach? Baden Powell

Here’s one of those remarkable players I was too dumb to pay attention to before he died. He died in 2000 at the age of only 63, so it’s clear I was pretty dumb for quite a long time. I could have been enjoying his incredible music all through my young adulthood.

It’s never too late, though. You can find his records aplenty at this evil retail site. You can also watch him play on videos like the above, and he will never cease to amaze you with his masterful technique.

Interesting that he was named after the founder of the Boy Scouts.

 

6 comments on “Who’s the bossa the beach? Baden Powell

  1. islandeditions
    July 19, 2014

    Love this! Thanks for (re)discovering him, Kevin!

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 19, 2014

      My pleasure! He leads to a lot more fantastic players in Brazilian music too…

  2. ericjbaker
    July 19, 2014

    Stellar musicianship. Thanks for posting.

    • Kevin Brennan
      July 19, 2014

      Have a look at some of his more modern vids, where his fingering is clearer and you can see what he’s doing. Uber intimidating!

      • ericjbaker
        July 19, 2014

        I’m so far removed from that kind of talent that it doesn’t even intimidate me. I know I’ll never be that or anything close to it, so I can sit back and appreciate it. Funny thing, upon the first close up of his picking hand I was like, “Shit. I can’t do that.” I drew the above conclusion right there.

      • Kevin Brennan
        July 19, 2014

        Yes, his right hand is apparently bionic. Cameras can’t capture all the movements of it. His nails are like tungsten. What’s the point…

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2014 by in Music and tagged , , .
