WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

String theory

Jag

Oh, I’m so enjoying my Christmas in July gift. Ain’t it purty? It’s a Squier Jaguar, “crafted in Indonesia” by the good people at Fender.

I’ve been pining for a Fender-sounding guitar for a while now, and this pup fills the bill perfectly. Sounds great and it was cheap! Can’t beat that, now, can ya.

It isn’t healthy to think about nothing but writing, you know. All you kids: be sure to leave room in your life for stuff like making a little noise.

Rock on, y’all!

18 comments on “String theory

  1. 1WriteWay
    August 1, 2014

    As long as the noise is blues or real rock ‘n roll … or anything except Metallica (my nephews’ favorite (and both nephews are old enough to prefer better ;)).

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 1, 2014

      Agree 100%! I just listened to some Albert King, which really did the trick for me.

    • ericjbaker
      August 1, 2014

      I assume you’re talking about newer Metallica, Marie. Because old Metallica is coooool.

      \m/ >.< \m/

      • Kevin Brennan
        August 1, 2014

        And old Metallica is old!

      • ericjbaker
        August 1, 2014

        They match the gray in my beard.

      • 1WriteWay
        August 1, 2014

        Sorry, Eric, I’m not a fan of old Metallica either. Funny: old Metallica was a bunch of young guys and new Metallica is same guys but much older. Makes my head hurt. Like their music does πŸ˜‰

      • ericjbaker
        August 1, 2014

        Ah, but “Master of Puppets” is a masterpiece of metal. I’m with your nephews on this one. I’m sure we can find common ground elsewhere.

      • 1WriteWay
        August 1, 2014

        I love my nephews. We can find common ground as long as I don’t have to listen to Metallica πŸ˜‰

      • ericjbaker
        August 1, 2014

        and I don’t have to listen to The Carpenters.

        I’m sure Kevin has plenty of suggestions for things that fall outside or in between.

      • 1WriteWay
        August 1, 2014

        Oh, god, yes πŸ™‚

  2. Phillip McCollum
    August 1, 2014

    She be a beaut, Kevin. Planning to record anything for us?

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 1, 2014

      Soon, I hope! I have a couple things I’d like to try with this one… Aren’t you kind to ask! πŸ˜‰

  3. ericjbaker
    August 1, 2014

    Dig the sea-foam green, or at least how it looks in the photo. Rock on, my man.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 1, 2014

      They describe it as “surf green.” It’s soothing to the eye, in any case.

      • ericjbaker
        August 1, 2014

        Normally I expect to see maple fretboards on Fender or Fender East guitars, but the rosewood looks cool with the dark scratch guards

  4. John W. Howell
    August 1, 2014

    What! Not write? Hummmmmm. BTW love the first person POV in Occasional Soulmates? Am anxious to see where this one goes.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 1, 2014

      Thanks, John. Not your usual cuppa tea, I bet, but I’m glad you’re liking it so far!

      • John W. Howell
        August 2, 2014

        My usual is first person present, so I feel at home. Female protagonist is great.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2014 by in Music and tagged , , .
