WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Join my newsletter list and be among the first to see the cover of Occasional Soulmates

darling-per-monkey

That’s what’s known in the biz as a come-on. As in, Come on!

But as I sit down to write this come-on, in keeping with the advice of all the self-publishing gurus out there, I realize that nobody wants random email coming from stray authors all the time. That’s why I tend not to sign up for newsletters. I know from the Mail Chimp’s statistics, too, that not all that many people actually open my newsletter when I do send out an edition (two or three times a year). I don’t blame them. Gmail funnels such things into the Promotional tab, or Social Media, or even Junk, and I don’t comb those very finely for lost gems.

The upshot is, I don’t really believe in the marketing effectiveness of newsletters, at least not for authors who aren’t familiar names. The idea, I suppose, is that we are to gather up more than a soupçon of email addresses for marketing announcements and campaigns, creating a small army of willing pawns to spread the word and, ideally, make purchases. I learned last year with Yesterday Road, though, that at my level, at this particular time, people aren’t chomping at the bit for reveals and giveaways and opportunities and extra come-ons. So.

All this said, I will be revealing my new cover to newsletter subscribers first. A week or two before launch, which is slated for September 23 at this time (i.e., barring any setbacks with CreateSpace or KDP). Everything is on track as of today, though. Hallelujah.

Anyway, if you think you’d like a sneak peek at Max Scratchmann’s marvelous cover, sign up here, or look for the Darling Pet Monkey in the sidebar of any post.

I thank you, my mother thanks you, my sister thanks you, my dog thanks you, my sister’s dog thanks you…

5 comments on “Join my newsletter list and be among the first to see the cover of Occasional Soulmates

  1. John W. Howell
    August 7, 2014

    I just had to sign up. I am really enjoying Occasional Soulmates. I love the dialog (with few tags yay!) First person and a female. You are quite the genius.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 7, 2014

      Genius? Well, maybe at tagless dialogue, but not beyond that… 😉

  2. ericjbaker
    August 7, 2014

    You’re going to force me into buying a Kindle device one of these days.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 7, 2014

      Lucky you. Occasional Soulmates will be available in paperback! -_0

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
