WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

The pudding is in the proof

love_of_books_202371

I’m sort of agog this morning. Why? Because I received the proof copy of Occasional Soulmates on Friday and it looks terrific!

I’ll be honest and admit that my expectations were modest. I’d never handled a CreateSpace book before, and the whole idea of print-on-demand always struck me as “less than.” I imagined something along the lines of the old chapbooks and little-little magazines, made on the cheap and screaming “Amateur!”

But let me tell you: Thisere’s a real book! It’s made of quality-stock paper. It’s well-bound, with no blobs of glue gooping out. It’s got everything a standard trade paperback has except a publisher’s imprint on the spine.

Which leads me to the real theme here, and that is a simple question: If I can produce a book that’s indistinguishable from a traditional trade paperback (aside from that little imprint), why do I need a traditional publisher?

It’s a rhetorical question.

The answer is, I don’t. We don’t. The cost of self-publishing a book is perfectly reasonable, so we don’t need the machinery of big publishing. True, promotion can rack up some bills, and while it’s tempting to say that traditional publishers can do that much better, the fact is that they don’t do it for most books. Mid-list authors and first novelists are on their own for the most part, so that advantage is something of a myth.

Then there’s the quality of the writing. That’s a tricky one. I hope I offer readers professional quality at low-low prices, but that’s in the eye of the beholder to a large extent. We’ll see if I can develop a reputation that backs me up. At least I know now that the paperback itself won’t betray me.

Anyway, I wish I could show you the book! It’s coming out September 23, but you can sign up for a sneak peek at the cover by adding your name to my newsletter list here.

14 comments on “The pudding is in the proof

  1. Pamela Beckford
    August 11, 2014

    I used Createspace for my poetry books as well. I learn more each time. But it really is simple.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 11, 2014

      It’s simple and inexpensive. What more can we ask? 😉

  2. John W. Howell
    August 11, 2014

    Glad you think the outside is up to the quality of the inside. Really good book,but you know that.

  3. ericjbaker
    August 11, 2014

    This old dinosaur is looking forward to getting his hands on a paper copy of your new novel.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 11, 2014

      Not long to wait, EB!

      By the way, are you a carnivorous dinosaur or a benign pond dweller?

  4. sknicholls
    August 11, 2014

    I’m so excited for you. It’s an awesome book in any form and I’m sure your readers will be impressed.

  5. Michelle Proulx
    August 11, 2014

    I’ve bought a couple of Createspace books, and I have to say their quality really impresses me! I mean, it’s no leather-bound hardcover, but it’s pretty damn decent for a softcover! Like you said, thick paper, no glue spilling over the edges, etc. I’ll be looking into them to produce my novels when they’re eventually read for publication 🙂 Oh, and best of luck with your own novel launch! September 23 … marking it on my calendar.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 11, 2014

      Thanks so much, Michelle! Get ready to fire up your review pen too! 😉

  6. kingmidget
    August 11, 2014

    Agreeing with what everybody has already said … CreateSpace does self-publishers right. The only thing holding some of us back is the quality of our covers, something I’m still working on. But, with the right cover, a CreateSpace produced book looks just like any other published paperback.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 12, 2014

      I think you’re right about the cover thing. As mundane as it sounds, you need a high-quality cover in order to compete in the bombardment of images that is Amazon. It’s probably smarter to spend bucks on that rather than risky promotional efforts.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged , .
