WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Some fun tonight

This is a clip someone else took at Paul McCartney’s send-off of Candlestick Park the other night, but since the view is from just about where we were sitting I thought I’d give you a glimpse of what I experienced. Sure, Paul was about as tall as my thumbnail, but thanks to the giant video screens it was almost like being there.

Oh wait. I was there.

I must say, he sounded terrific. His voice ain’t what it used to be, but he can still belt out “Long Tall Sally” and “Back In The U.S.S.R.,” even if he has a wistful quiver on “Yesterday” and “Let It Be.” Surprising highlights were the Wings numbers, “Let Me Roll It,” “Nineteen Hundred And Eighty-Five,” and “Band On The Run,” and “Lovely Rita” sounded remarkably good too, with Paul strumming a twelve-string acoustic. Beatles tunes sounded almost just like the records as Paul moved comfortably from guitar to bass to piano throughout the evening, and from mood to mood, as if he were a human jukebox.

Perhaps he is. He gave us a good proportion of the memorable songs that linger from thirty to fifty years ago, playing for about two-and-a-half hours and never flagging for a moment.

“Hey Jude” and the closer, “Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End,” were the emotional climaxes for moi. Tears and joyous grinning. It was like having the soundtrack of my entire life acted out in front of 49,000 people.

I feel lucky to have been there, though. The logjam of traffic approaching the Candlestick parking lots prevented thousands of people from getting in. Likely they won’t get their money back either. My wife tells me my face — ‘round about 8:30 when we still weren’t parked — was a picture of existential despair. Somehow fate got us inside before Paul took the stage.

There are lots of clips of the concert on YouTube, including this one showing the dazzling fireworks during “Live And Let Die.”

Cool that I can relive the night any time I want via the series of tubes… Thanks, Internet!

6 comments on “Some fun tonight

  1. John W. Howell
    August 16, 2014

    I’m glad Paul showed up for yor life review. Seriously sounds like a great evening. 😎

  2. sknicholls
    August 16, 2014

    So glad you were able to get in and see the show. That’s just radical! 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 16, 2014

      I was worried for a while. They started at 9 instead of 8, so it all worked out…

  3. ericjbaker
    August 17, 2014

    Cool story. Sir Paul is one of the great living legends.

    • Kevin Brennan
      August 17, 2014

      I kept telling myself that during the concert. “That’s effing Paul McCartney down there!!!!”

      Great band too, though he failed to introduce them…

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2014 by in Music and tagged , , , , , .
