WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Self-publishing wake-up call No. 999

Tacky of me to reblog my own stuff, but since I’m about to put out a new novel, I thought I’d revisit the theme of self-publishing reality (vs fantasyland). Turns out, not much has changed in the year since I posted this. The good news? I’m still at it. And as I’ve said before, with a long-term view you don’t have to hope for miracles on any one project. It’s a building process, like the cathedrals of old — never really finished.

WHAT THE HELL

file811313612252

Just finished reading Alina Simone’s piece in the NYT about the plight of creative artists in our winner-take-all economy. She tells a familiar tale of having to self-promote her music after the label that had signed her went bankrupt. She wound up putting the album out herself and found the whole thing highly daunting:

“What I missed most about having a label wasn’t the monetary investment, but the right to be quiet, the insulation provided from incessant self-promotion. I was a singer, not a saleswoman. Not everyone wants to be an entrepreneur.”

Simone was somehow rescued by a deus ex machina in the form of an editor who contacted her out of the blue and asked if she might want to write a novel. She did. And it was published, and now she teaches and has time to write, and I’m guessing does her music too. She’s also best buds…

View original post 561 more words

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2014 by in Publishing.
