WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

I see duet people

What a delicious pair of tunes by this masterful pair of dudes: “I’ll See You In My Dreams” and “Imagine.” You can tell that Knopfler and Atkins are wonderfully respectful of each other, the way they trade segments and watch each other weave lines. I have a sneaking suspicion they didn’t rehearse too much, which gives the performance a great casual air, relaxed but intricate too.

Guitar heaven, though Knopfler’s still with us!

6 comments on “I see duet people

  1. kingmidget
    September 6, 2014

    A couple of years ago, some friends had tickets to see Bob Dylan and invited me to join them. I’ve never been a huge fan of Dylan, but it was an opportunity to see him and see what all the fuss about him was. Mark Knopfler opened for him. I could have watched Knopfler and his band for hours and was disappointed when their set ended. Dylan’s was a massive disappointment. All thunder and noise and a singer who doesn’t sing in any language I can understand. But Knopfler was incredible.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 7, 2014

      I’d like to see Knopfler someday. Never tire of Sultans!

  2. ericjbaker
    September 6, 2014

    Great groove, especially on the second number.

  3. Gretchen Getsinger
    September 6, 2014

    Two masters, highly enjoyable!

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 7, 2014

      I’d love to find more of them playing together…

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2014 by in Music and tagged , , , .
