WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

The ten most valuable writing tips I’ve received

I was going to gripe about my opening week numbers for Occasional Soulmates, but instead I think I’ll broadcast something constructive. Dylan Hearn has compiled ten terrific writing tips, all of which are spot on!

Suffolk Scribblings

tipswriting image source: mcargobe.wordpress.com

The internet is full of advice on how to write and it can be confusing and contradictory at times, especially when you are starting out. This isn’t because people like to give false advice but because each writer – and their writing process – is different. However, out of all the good advice I’ve received, these are the ones that have worked best for me. I hope by sharing them they will be of some help to you too.

1. Allow yourself to write poorly

Some days I find writing easy, some days it’s as if the language centre of my brain has decided to go on vacation, leaving my fingers to fend for themselves. However, even if I’m having one of the latter days I still write. It may be painful at the times, even more horrific when I read it back, but at least I have something on the page to…

View original post 1,077 more words

6 comments on “The ten most valuable writing tips I’ve received

  1. Phillip McCollum
    September 26, 2014

    Sorry to hear the numbers aren’t what you expected. It seemed like you got a good push from yourself and your cohorts, so I’m a little surprised! Hopefully the numbers improve in the near future…

  2. sknicholls
    September 26, 2014

    I was having a bummer of a day because the second beta reader out of ten said they couldn’t read my book because of inability to relate to characters or location/setting references. I get it. It’s regional fiction, not everybody is going to like it. It’s not personal. Thanks for posting this.

    • Kevin Brennan
      September 26, 2014

      Some days are tough in this biz, eh? And it’s true, personal taste is a huge factor…

      • sknicholls
        September 26, 2014

        I want you to get ten reviews so you can get this girl on ENT. I think she’ll do you proud.

      • Kevin Brennan
        September 26, 2014

        I didn’t think she required a minimum number of reviews… Have to check on that!

      • sknicholls
        September 26, 2014

        oops..that comment belonged on the other post…damn tiny notifications box. fix it.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2014 by in Publishing.
