WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

A stack of wholesome goodness

IMG_1217

Guess what showed up in the afternoon post yesterday. Books, babies! A lovely stack of books!

This is my first batch of author copies of Occasional Soulmates, which I’m planning to use as huge business cards. Well, the truth is I’m giving some of them to friends and family — Mom’s birthday is coming up — and I might try to peddle a handful at the local bookstore. I might even come up with a contest here at What The Hell. Better stay tuned!

The really interesting thing about the arrival of these copies is that, believe it or not, it felt the same as when I got my first copies of Parts Unknown, which was published traditionally. Getting a box of your own books in the mail is a blast, whether you’ve been lucky enough to snag a contract with a big publisher or have made the magic all on your own. There’s just something about seeing the thing you created out of thin air fully realized.

Now I just have to figure out a way to sell the son of a gun!

Ebook ($3.99). Paperback ($8.99).

7 comments on “A stack of wholesome goodness

  1. ericjbaker
    September 30, 2014

    According to amazon’s tracking data, my copy is due to show up on Wednesday (I opted for free shipping, which delays arrival). I know that is a “who cares” statement, but I’m riding on 3 hours of sleep, so it was the best I could manage.

    Be glad I didn’t shout “Banana Pants!” and run away.

    **runs away**

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 1, 2014

      I’m disappointed that you didn’t shout “Banana Pants.” Maybe today, when the book arrives…

  2. John W. Howell
    September 30, 2014

    Always a thrill. Congrats and no I won’t enter your contest since I already paid good money for my copy.

  3. 1WriteWay
    September 30, 2014

    Now that is one beautiful stack … of books 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 1, 2014

      It is! I might just keep it around as decor.

      • 1WriteWay
        October 1, 2014

        No, you will spread these books far and wide. They won’t get read otherwise 😉

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2014 by in Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
