WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Beware: WordPress.com targeting authors and reviewers

Not sure if this is one of those pesky errors or an overzealous seek n’ destroy program WordPress uses, but it’s still cause for concern. My followers might remember something similar happened to me early this year…

YA Chit Chat

So, WordPress.com has targeted one of my favorite bloggers and book reviewers.  I tried to access her blog two days ago to read about a book she reviewed and I got the following message:

[name of blog] .wordpress.com is no longer available.

This blog has been archived or suspended for a violation of our Terms of Service.
For more information and to contact us please read this support document.

Upon looking at WordPress.com’s Terms of Service, I noted they had highlighted one clause:

the Content is not spam, is not machine- or randomly-generated, and does not contain unethical or unwanted commercial content designed to drive traffic to third party sites or boost the search engine rankings of third party sites, or to further unlawful acts (such as phishing) or mislead recipients as to the source of the material (such as spoofing);

Why is this clause potentially problematic…

View original post 708 more words

8 comments on “Beware: WordPress.com targeting authors and reviewers

  1. kford2007
    October 12, 2014

    Thaank for the reblog. I think the more people are aware of this, the better they will know how to handle it if it happens to them. Hopefully, this was just a WordPress error. Still…

    So sorry this happened to you. I’ll read your blog to see what happened.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 12, 2014

      WordPress never explained what happened, but I was offline for three days and went through all the appeal processes multiple times, with no response from them. Then suddenly the blog was live again.

      This seems to be the post that got me in trouble, because it mentioned a suspicious phishing link: http://wp.me/p3sx1Q-sY .

      WordPress works in mysterious ways.

      • kford2007
        October 12, 2014

        ahh, interesting. I haven’t see anything like this on this particular book reviewer’s site. She does commonly link Goodreads and author sites. it just baffles me to no end. I’m glad yours was resolved.

  2. LindaGHill
    October 12, 2014

    Thanks for re-blogging this Kevin. Useful (and disturbing) information.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 12, 2014

      I wish they’d be more open about how the TOS should be interpreted!

      • LindaGHill
        October 12, 2014

        Me too. I mean, everyone links. And as the post you re-blogged stated, WP allows Youtube right in the options. I don’t understand where the limit lies.

  3. islandeditions
    October 12, 2014

    This happened to me as well, but my blog was reinstated after a couple of days, and after I badgered them about it, but the only explanation I received was that an over-zealous automatic spam detector on their end – made a mistake.

    (Reminds me of the Fawlty Towers episode we quote so often around our house in which Basil keeps repeating, “I’m so sorry, my wife has made a mistake!”)

  4. 1WriteWay
    October 12, 2014

    Hmmm … I would think that as long as one is on the up-and-up about links embedded in one’s post, there should be no problem. I would think, but you know how that goes.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2014 by in Publishing.
