WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Things were better back then — Halloween edition

MasksI ran across this spectacular Flickr collection via Boing Boing the other day and just had to share. Page after page of vintage Halloween masks, and, yes, I do believe I proudly owned quite a few of them myself back in the day.

One thing I notice that distinguishes that era from today is how so many of the masks have absolutely nothing to do with current movies or TV shows or consumer products or popular culture. In other words, everything wasn’t a goddamn corporate tie-in back then! If you wanted to be a plain old devil, you could be one. It didn’t have to be a trademark demon from Hell’s Bells IV: Days of Brimstone.

As I read somewhere just the other day, big companies want us all to be the same now. It makes things easier for them. Seems like it might have been possible to be an individual at one point, though the memories are growing hazy…

3 comments on “Things were better back then — Halloween edition

  1. sknicholls
    October 13, 2014

    I like homemade costumes that simply look scary. My daughter makes those for her family also and I just love it…but she’s anti-everything establishment to the hilt.

  2. ericjbaker
    October 13, 2014

    I spent many an hour poring over the horror-mask advertisements in the back of Famous Monsters magazine when I was a kid. In fact, if I can find good reproductions online, I may steal this post idea one of these days.

    • Kevin Brennan
      October 13, 2014

      Man, I wish I’d have kept my copies! It was my first magazine subscription that was in my name… I even had my mom buy me some spirit gum, thinking I’d learn to do some of the wild make-up they featured sometimes.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2014 by in Et alia and tagged , .
