WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

With pride, I have received my first one-star review!

IMG_1220

I won’t single it out here, since I think the ethics of being reviewed would demand that I not reveal the person’s name or anything like that. If you go to the Amazon page for Occasional Soulmates, it’s easy enough to find the review. And easy to see what kind of books the reviewer prefers.

Strange. I don’t feel bad at all!

26 comments on “With pride, I have received my first one-star review!

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    November 20, 2014

    Congrats on the milestone.

  2. sknicholls
    November 20, 2014

    Not to be tasteless here, but it was kinda funny.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 20, 2014

      It was. I’m glad she got her 99 cents back. ๐Ÿ˜

  3. John W. Howell
    November 20, 2014

    I’m going to get the bra based on her four star recommendation. Do I need it? No. I’ll return it

  4. cinthiaritchie
    November 20, 2014

    You’ve made it to the big time now, Kevin! Truly. If you browse through some of the classics you’ll find people giving Jane Austen one-star reviews (huh?). One good thing about low-star reviews is that it gives your book a sense of authenticity. I always groan whenever I see a book with only 5-star reviews. I always think, wow, that author must have a lot of relatives plugging his/her book.
    Congrats on your first one-star. May we all soon share in your blessings.
    P.S. I want someone who reviews Playtex bras to review my book, too!

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 20, 2014

      Ironic that you get extra cred when someone trashes you! Huh? Wha?

      But no, I agree: people don’t trust a book with only 5-star reviews. Still, I don’t have that many friends… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. ericjbaker
    November 20, 2014

    Can you really return a digital book?

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 20, 2014

      Sadly, Amazon makes it possible. I’ve had a couple of copies of Yesterday Road returned, and it always throws me for a loop.

      Think about it. You can’t return a book to B&N just because you didn’t like it. What makes an ebook any different?

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 20, 2014

      BTW, do I owe you thanks for a certain comment on the review, which caused me to laugh so hard I spewed Mountain Dew on my monitor?

      • ericjbaker
        November 21, 2014

        Hahaha. Very possibly.

        ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. 1WriteWay
    November 20, 2014

    Well, I just flagged the review as not helpful. I hate when people do that. I mean, if you’re going to give a 1-star, at least give a good reason. But I guess there wasn’t a good reason ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 20, 2014

      For the record, I feel constrained not to suggest that anyone go and flag the review as not helpful. But thank you for doing it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • 1WriteWay
        November 21, 2014

        And I don’t know that it’s helpful to anyone that I flagged the review as unhelpful. But even when I’m reading reviews of books by people who are not my friends, if I read a review that is particularly bad, I flag it. I’m not trying to censor as much as I would want the reviewer to get a clue so maybe next time he/she will provide a bit more information. The thing is when I’m thinking about buying a book, I know that the NYTimes may sell it short, or oversell it, so I do rely on fellow readers for guidance. One of my pet peeves is when people leave one-star reviews of books that are obviously just not the genre they like to read. Duh!

  7. kingmidget
    November 20, 2014

    I agree with WriteWay … one star reviews without an explanation are simply wrong. What’s interesting about her other reviews is that they all appear to be for garden variety romance books, except for one — Jesus: 90 Days with the One and Only. Well, that kind of sticks out like a sore thumb.

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 20, 2014

      It’s hard to synthesize bare-torso romance books with Jesus lit, that’s for sure.

  8. J. S. Collyer
    November 21, 2014

    You absolutely shouldn’t feel bad. If someone feels strongly enough to be leaving 1 star, it means they shouldn’t have been reading the book in the first place! I’m all braced for my first! XD

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 21, 2014

      This was clearly a case of the wrong book for the wrong person. Not sure why that’s my fault and not hers!

      Get ready, Jex! You know it’s comin’!

  9. Dave
    November 21, 2014

    What a pointless review. I can see why this one didn’t bother you … especially based on their past reviews. Quite surprised you can return an ebook just because you didn’t like it. What’s up with that?

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 21, 2014

      Human psychology is fascinating, isn’t it?

      I don’t get the ebook return policy either. What’s to keep someone from reading the whole book, and then returning it whether they enjoyed it or not? Seems ripe for abuse to me…

  10. P. C. Zick
    November 26, 2014

    OK, Kevin. Done that, now move on to the next 5-star review! There are just some mean spirited folks out there and by publishing we become targets for thoughtful and thoughtless remarks. Now are you ready for the paparazzi?

    • Kevin Brennan
      November 26, 2014

      Ha! Not quite ready to see my mug on The Enquirer. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2014 by in Publishing and tagged .
