WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Let (artistic) freedom ring

I'll sell that book for you, son!

Dare to be different!

If it’s Monday it must be raining. Let me check.

Yep. Later maybe I’ll scrape the moss out of my armpits.

At least this dismal day gives me a chance to open up my work-in-progress and see if I can inject a little magic. This pup has been giving me problems for a few years now, you see. It’s one of those that you work on for a while, then put away for a while; work on, put away, work on, put away. But this time I had an idea that’s giving it new life, and nothing feels quite as good to a fiction writer as a project that’s really starting to breathe.

What makes this new level of interest possible, though, is simple: because the book will be self-published if it’s ever published at all, I have a new degree of freedom that I wouldn’t have if I were going to run it through the agent/editor sausage machine. My new approach to the story is something that no agent would allow for an unknown writer. Only an established name would be granted the elbow room to stretch out and try this, and even then he’d probably meet some strong opposition from the corporate team. They’d be certain that readers wouldn’t like the technique. Too risky.

Not that it’s experimental or radical. It’s just different, and in this market different is often frowned upon. Until it’s not, miraculously, and a new wave of sameness is born. Innovation gives way to copycat-ism.

I won’t go into details, since there’s a pretty good chance I’ll be putting the book away again for another rest. Suffice to say, I’m momentarily excited by it, and the creative freedom that self-publishing offers is the fuel.

I knew there had to be an upside to all this!

6 comments on “Let (artistic) freedom ring

  1. islandeditions
    December 15, 2014

    A new novel, you say? Bring it on, I say!! (Oh, and if you hadn’t figured this out yet, I like different!)

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 15, 2014

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! What I’ve learned from self-pubbing, among other things, is that readers aren’t the hapless lemmings that traditional publishing seems to think they are. They’re actually open to almost anything!

  2. John W. Howell
    December 15, 2014

    Different? Gee um how different? Different you say. Gosh. I don’t know. Oh heck. Publish it already.

    • Kevin Brennan
      December 15, 2014

      It’s in backwards type so that you have to hold it up to a mirror to read it. How’s that sound? 😜

      • John W. Howell
        December 16, 2014

        It will have a niche for the narcissists

  3. 1WriteWay
    December 16, 2014

    I hope you won’t put it to rest for too long … you’ve definitely piqued my interest 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , , .
