WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Aaaaaeeeeeiiiiiii!

Yelling

Excuse me while I howl from the bottom of my lungs.

See, we’re in the midst of selling our house, and for the past week we’ve had to vacate on a dime to accommodate potential buyers who want to come by and “have a look at it.” I’ve been exposed to more BS’ers these last few days than in my entire life until now. Apologies to any of you out there who might be “real-a-tors,” but the ones I’ve had to deal with this week will say anything to get what they want. One actually showed up with his two little bitty kids, who ran around the house fascinated by all our extremely breakable things. He said, “They’ll be fine. I’ll be with ’em the whole time.” Then he proceeded to leave the room, with me and the kidlets by ourselves. I was reminded of the scene in Raising Arizona where the kids are running wild in H.I.’s trailer and one of them scrawls “FART” on the wall.

Yesterday was an open house. People opened up our piano and played it. Someone woke up my computer. Drawers were opened, things touched, debris left on the floor, and, I’m sure, snotty things said. (I use the passive voice because these beings have no identity and are like spectres in my mind.)

Today is another open house, so we have to leave for five hours with our insane dog, Hitch. Who knows what we’ll find when we get back?

Wish us luck…

9 comments on “Aaaaaeeeeeiiiiiii!

  1. 1WriteWay
    February 8, 2015

    All that sounds high on the creepy scale …

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 8, 2015

      Extremely. I’d never muck with people’s shit in their own house, but I guess I have superior ethical standards. 😜

  2. kingmidget
    February 8, 2015

    When we sold our house about ten years ago, we had a friend do the realtor thing for us. He didn’t then and still doesn’t now believe in open houses. He thinks they are really designed for realtors to get more clients and don’t actually help sell the house. Just thought I’d share that with you. 😉

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 8, 2015

      Now you tell me! It doesn’t help that it’s pouring down rain today and the invaders are gonna track crap all through the house…

      • kingmidget
        February 8, 2015

        Yeah, not a good weekend for the real estate business and those looking to sell their homes. Good luck sir. I know a good carpet cleaner.

  3. John W. Howell
    February 8, 2015

    Good luck. We went through that in 2001 when we had to relocate from Sonoma (city of) We took consolation in the above asking price war that broke out. Hang in there.

  4. Gretchen Getsinger
    February 8, 2015

    Luck!

  5. sknicholls
    February 9, 2015

    Argh! What is wrong with people!?

  6. ericjbaker
    February 9, 2015

    Seal up the crawlspace good. Them finding the dead bodies will force you to lower your asking price.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2015 by in Et alia and tagged .
