WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Unexpected treats: new reviews!

IMG_1217

One thing that really warms my cockles is when a review of one of my books turns up out of the blue. These days it doesn’t happen very often, but when it does: hot cockles. This weekend two new reviews of Occasional Soulmates appeared, both by readers completely unknown to me. I love when that happens!

From the first: “This book, not really a romance novel, was very profound…. To think that the author of this book is a man, he did a pretty good job thinking like a woman.”

And from the second: “By the title and cover I thought I was going to read ‘chick lit,’ so I was confused by the main character’s voice at first. She is so ‘real’ and a realist, which is often not found in chick lit. Then I realized that the author is male, so I wondered if he was spoofing chick lit. I continued to read because the character drew me into her life as a doctor, a daughter, a sister and a lonely woman looking for love. I kept on waiting for ‘fluff’ but as the story grew, so did the characters’ interior flaws, their pain and losses, and their difficulties in driving through life’s windy roads. By the middle of this book, I was in love – with the author’s writing, with his characters (even if they made me mad) and with the idea that writing doesn’t have to fit a particular genre. Five stars indeed. And I look forward to reading more books by Kevin Brannan [sic].”

If you’ve read Occasional Soulmates, why not add to the pile o’ praise? Join the kool kids and write a brief review!

11 comments on “Unexpected treats: new reviews!

  1. 1WriteWay
    February 16, 2015

    That is awesome!

  2. Charles Yallowitz
    February 16, 2015

    Congrats.

  3. sknicholls
    February 16, 2015

    These are great! So good when someone really gets it!

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 16, 2015

      Yeah! It’s awesome when your intended effect gets through to ’em.

  4. John W. Howell
    February 16, 2015

    Nice thing to happen.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 16, 2015

      Makes me want to keep doin’ this, I guess… 😁

  5. pinklightsabre
    February 16, 2015

    ‘And…now…I’ll light the fire… ‘

    Very good for you Kevin! Enjoy. I am in the nutty land of drafting stories and wondering, will the string and the spool ever make something I wear or just like run all over the carpet and look back at me, confused? But I’m OK with that even. Life is good. Best to you and yours, relish the good words you’ve earned. — Bill

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 17, 2015

      Thanks, Bill. It sure is rewarding when someone takes the time to warm my cockles!

      And as for your stories, if you’re creating something that can look back at you, I think you might be on to something… 😜

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2015 by in Publishing and tagged , , .
