WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Moving violations

Yelling

Poking my nose just above the water to say, Whoa, I’d forgotten how stressful it is to move! We’ve had a hell of a 2015 so far: buying a new house, selling the old one, and never quite knowing till the last minute if the deals were going to get inked or not, but 2014 quite sucked there at the end too. If you recall from earlier whining on my part, our dream of building a house in the country collapsed when our architects led us down a primrose path that put us way over budget before even one permit had been issued. We had to bail, but now we’re glad we did. Got a much better house than we’d have built, and we’ve timed the sale of our current house perfectly, with a seller’s market and multiple offers. Oh, it’s nice to get lucky for once in my life…

But now we’re in the stretch run of the actual move (it’s looking like it’ll happen on 3/11), and Daddy’s stress levels are requiring more and more high-octane elixirs to keep under control. Soon I’ll be pouring Tanqueray on my morning cereal!

I have a five-page to-do list right now, and it’s only growing with each waking thought I have. Plus, we have to — you know — work.

So what do you do when you’re being torn asunder by crazy circumstance? (And don’t say meditate; there’s no time to meditate!) I’d like to be put in a state of suspended animation and awakened when it’s all over — like a flight to Alpha Centauri — but I don’t think that’s too realistic, do you?

16 comments on “Moving violations

  1. islandeditions
    February 27, 2015

    As Anna says, you should just whistle a happy tune … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Up4mbHD1CU

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 27, 2015

      I’ll give it a shot! (Certainly can’t hurt…)

      • islandeditions
        February 27, 2015

        It could make you feel like a king, as well!

  2. sknicholls
    February 27, 2015

    Lists are a great start! Hang in there.

  3. Phillip McCollum
    February 27, 2015

    You know what they say, “Tanqueray, a part of your complete, nutritious breakfast.” You’re right about meditation though, you’re never going to find time for it. These days, we gotta “make” time for everything. Annoying, but you’ll be glad your did (or at least your spouse will thank you).

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 27, 2015

      Yes, we make time for staring at each other in disbelief just before bed time each night… 😳

  4. John W. Howell
    February 27, 2015

    Tanqueray aside. You have to ask yourself the question, “What’s the worst that could happen if ….” You will find the worst is usually not so bad.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 27, 2015

      Sounds like great advice, John! This is one occasion when I don’t care to use my writerly imagination…

  5. Lynn Brennan
    February 27, 2015

    Maybe Steve and I should rethink moving out of state?? At least you’re not looking for a new job….

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 27, 2015

      Yes, think it over carefully! Ever hear that phrase, Out of the frying pan, into the fire? 🔥

      • Lynn Brennan
        February 27, 2015

        Thanks, Kev.. what the hell were we thinking?!

      • Kevin Brennan
        February 28, 2015

        Then again, there’s that phrase, “Go for the gusto!”

  6. kingmidget
    February 27, 2015

    You’re reminding me of why I hate moving and why our next one, if it’s what I want, will be an absolute bear. That next move I hope will be of the downsizing kind and I know with absolute certainty it will involve a multitude of challenges with my wife.

  7. Gretchen Getsinger
    February 28, 2015

    Whenever I do a move, I make a list, give in to the moment and focus on The Move until it’s over, praying my hard work and focus will make it be over soon. I find the ‘just suck it up and get packing’ mode worked the best for me. There’s no easy way. Moving sucks. The best part is when it’s over and the settling in process begins, I think. Good luck and happy as possible moving to you!

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 28, 2015

      Oh, thanks, Gretchen. I think you’re right. Just realizing that all waking thoughts have to be geared toward this monster is half the battle. That said, I think we’re on track at the moment, and no horrendous surprises have popped up yet. Other than, oh joy, it looks like rain on moving day. 😩

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2015 by in Et alia and tagged .
