WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Screw “Go Tell Aunt Rhody” — teach kids music by letting them play Led Zeppelin!

I feel fortunate to have come upon this clip earlier in the week. It’s been giving me a renewed sense of hope for civilization ever since!

Honest to God, whoever thought up this approach should get a big trophy. These kids are having a blast and learning that individual performance in a group = cohesion = interplay = totally awesome.

(Makes the children’s guitar ensemble from hell look like… a children’s guitar ensemble from hell!)

8 comments on “Screw “Go Tell Aunt Rhody” — teach kids music by letting them play Led Zeppelin!

  1. MacNutt
    February 28, 2015

    School of Rock redux–and the kids are awesome! I think the best part is the grins at the end The kiddos know they done good.

  2. Phillip McCollum
    February 28, 2015

    That was awesome! Thanks for sharing, Kevin.

    • Kevin Brennan
      February 28, 2015

      My pleasure, Phillip. Keep it in mind for when Angus gets old enough to hold mallets.

  3. sknicholls
    February 28, 2015

    I saw this on Facebook and fell in love with it. Yeah!! Another video is by Okeefe’s kids. I love that they are incorporating modern music into how kids learn.

  4. pinklightsabre
    March 31, 2015

    Love it. I just got like way turned on to “Sick Again” because one of my favorite artists (SF self-obsessed crooner Mark Kozelek) covered it, and made me go back to the original, which…well, I can’t say how much I like it now I just do. This is very cool. Kashmir, no less. Love it.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 1, 2015

      Awesome stuff, eh? Kids n’ Kashmir. BTW, thanks for the tip on Kozelek. Quite a different take on the song than Zep’s!

      • pinklightsabre
        April 1, 2015

        Ah yes you went for the Koz…glad to hear. Thanks for indulging me indulging him indulging himself. Feels heavy man like onion-peeling.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2015 by in Music and tagged .
