WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Defy the restrictions of genre

heart_2This has been on my mind a lot lately: that for reasons I don’t entirely understand, genres in the book biz are here to stay and that isn’t such a hot thing for litera-toor. People eat up these titles like I gobble jalapeño smokehouse almonds, which makes it hard for an author with literary aspirations to attract the attention needed to move paper. Well, this list from Flavorwire shows how you can take a genre, say, romance, and dress it up to rise way above the strict requirements of the genre. And readers love these 50 books.

I haven’t read too terribly many of these, but the ones I have read stick with me and are among some of the most effective and affecting books out there. Have a look. They’re romance novels with heft.

I might add a 51st genre-bending romance, if you don’t mind: Occasional Soulmates, by Some Guy.

2 comments on “Defy the restrictions of genre

  1. Phillip McCollum
    March 3, 2015

    Thanks for sharing the list. There are some great books on there which I’ve read, so I feel I can trust most of the recommendations for ones I haven’t.

  2. 1WriteWay
    March 7, 2015

    Totally blew me away that Nightwood by Djuna Barnes is on the list! I read that novel decades ago while I was doing a short stint at a private college. I became fascinated by Barnes and wrote an essay on her work during another short stint at a different private college. It was all so long ago I don’t remember what I wrote, but since it was pre-Internet days, I do remember having a difficult time finding material on her. Somehow, seeing her book on that list makes me feel validated 😉
    And, yes, I would agree that Occasional Soulmates should be on that list 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , .
