WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Is Self-Publishing His New Novel

Cover reveal: Harper Lee’s new novel

Lee

Have you seen it yet? The cover to Harper Lee’s new novel, Go Set A Watchman? Well, there it is if you haven’t ☝︎.

I kind of like it, as a throwback to the era in which To Kill A Mockingbird was published. The relative simplicity of book covers back then is appealing, compared to some of the elaborate, over-literal covers we get nowadays. (And I’m so pleased that there are no six-pack abs on this one!)

What worries me is the book itself, due in July. Lee wrote it before TKAM, and to hear her talk, its publication is something of a surprise: “I hadn’t realized it (the original book) had survived, so was surprised and delighted when my dear friend and lawyer Tonja Carter discovered it. After much thought and hesitation, I shared it with a handful of people I trust and was pleased to hear that they considered it worthy of publication. I am humbled and amazed that this will now be published after all these years.”

My old publisher, HarperCollins, is putting this thing out. It will sell colossally. I just hope it does Lee proud and that it’s not just a way for someone other than her to cash in.

9 comments on “Cover reveal: Harper Lee’s new novel

  1. islandeditions
    March 25, 2015

    I wonder if Truman Capote had a chance to look over this novel before he died …

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 25, 2015

      Good point! I bet he’d have advised her to leave well enough alone…

      • islandeditions
        March 25, 2015

        Actually, I was thinking more along the lines of … he would have written it for her. That’s the rumour that went around for a very long time, and the reason given why Lee never published anything further after To Kill was published. She didn’t actually write it. That’s what I heard, anyway.

      • Kevin Brennan
        March 25, 2015

        Hmmm. Fascinating!

  2. Gretchen Getsinger
    March 25, 2015

    I’m curious to see how her new book compares to To Kill a Mockingbird…. Love the cover!

  3. John W. Howell
    March 25, 2015

    I have not heard the Capote rumor before. Interesting.

  4. kingmidget
    March 25, 2015

    I’m ambivalent about this. I have always loved the idea that she wrote one book that turned into what many consider to be the classic American novel and then never published again. It’s very possible, as much as I loved To Kill A Mockingbird, I may pass on this book. I don’t know. Curiosity will probably compel me to read it at some point.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 25, 2015

      Same here. I’m just not getting a real good feeling about this…

  5. 1WriteWay
    March 26, 2015

    Definitely some controversy over this book. A.K. Andrew posted on this a while ago and stimulated a good discussion: http://akandrew.com/to-kill-a-mockingbird-do-you-want-to-read-the-sequel/
    But I like the cover too. It’s simple but with a hint of mystery.

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2015 by in Publishing and tagged , , , .
