WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

A (writing) room with a view

View 1

I thought I’d give you a look at what’s outside my writing room, here at the new manse. I have my desk facing a wall, because otherwise I’d just gaze out at the trees all day long instead of writing, and that would defeat the purpose. Still, it’s nice to swivel the chair every so often and have a look at the view.

‘Round about 11 each morning, it gets warm enough to open the slider and let the magnificent pine and oak aromas waft in. Then it really gets hard to concentrate.

Sometimes I wonder if meditating on nature isn’t more rewarding than word-whacking my way through another novel…

Here’s another shot:

View 2

 

16 comments on “A (writing) room with a view

  1. MacNutt
    March 26, 2015

    Sweet setup, mrnie. I hope you get to write a lot of good stuff there!

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 26, 2015

      Ever the optimist! At least a lot of revising will happen here…

  2. 1WriteWay
    March 26, 2015

    I. Am. So. Jealous.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 26, 2015

      Now if I could just put the move behind us for good and start writing!

      • 1WriteWay
        March 26, 2015

        Good luck with that 😏

  3. Dylan Hearn
    March 26, 2015

    I can’t think of anything worse. All those interruptions from bird song, woodpeckers, squirrels. It would be torture.*

    *Just kidding. It looks gorgeous 🙂

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 26, 2015

      It is irritating. I think I’ll get used to it, though.

  4. Phillip McCollum
    March 26, 2015

    You’re killing us here… Need to hook up the Smell-O-Tron so you can pipe the sweet smells to the rest of us.

  5. Gretchen Getsinger
    March 26, 2015

    Your view is as good as having an ocean view, I think. Happy writing with such great inspiration.

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 26, 2015

      Thanks, Gretchen. I actually think I prefer it to an ocean view. Oceans are loud!

  6. John W. Howell
    March 26, 2015

    Glorious view. I can imagine the aroma. Nice

    • Kevin Brennan
      March 26, 2015

      I might have to draw the drapes most days, just to get some work done!

      • John W. Howell
        March 26, 2015

        I lived in Marin and had a view of San Pablo Bay.

  7. Carol Balawyder
    March 26, 2015

    What an inspiring view! 🙂

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , .
