WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Let’s review

yesterday road small-cover

Since I’ve been going on and on about reviews, I thought I’d share a recent surprise review of Yesterday Road. It’s another of the “out of the blue” variety, by a reader I don’t know, who bought and read the book completely out of my view. I wasn’t waiting for it, didn’t know it was there for days, and was blown away by the reader’s enthusiasm. Here’s the full review:

Kevin Brennan has created characters with such depth that I could not help but feel love and compassion for them in reading this novel. I stayed up late tonight to finish the book, so I will keep this review brief. Highly recommended read. My father has memory loss. His circumstances differ from Jack’s, yet I came away with a renewed respect for those who, like Jack and my father, struggle daily to make sense of what they can no longer recall.

It’s always especially poignant when readers relate what I’ve written to their own lives. As a writer, I never consciously set out to target particular groups of readers — in this case, families with elders who are suffering from Alzheimer’s and related dementias — but when it happens I realize that writing fiction shouldn’t be taken lightly. When you attempt to create worlds based even loosely on the reality we all know and love, you’re going to rub up against genuine experiences, crises, identities, and pain, and your work will have a ripple effect.

Reviews like this make me want to remind myself of that every time I sit down to write.

Once again, if you’ve read Occasional Soulmates and you’re inclined to post a review of your own, this would be a great week to do it. I need one more in order to list a forthcoming promotion on a popular marketing site.

No pressure!

16 comments on “Let’s review

  1. J. S. Collyer
    April 8, 2015

    Ah, that’s great, Kevin! 😀 And well deserved 😀

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 8, 2015

      Why, thank you, Jex! Dontcha just love the unsolicited ones?

  2. Charles Yallowitz
    April 8, 2015

    Very cool.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 8, 2015

      Thanks, Charles. And best of luck with the new book!

      • Charles Yallowitz
        April 8, 2015

        So far so good with it. Just finished writing a short story for a summer release too. Keeping busy takes the new book edge off.

      • Kevin Brennan
        April 8, 2015

        That’s a good idea. Must… preserve… mental… health…

      • Charles Yallowitz
        April 8, 2015

        Or at least enough to avoid the padded room.

  3. islandeditions
    April 8, 2015

    And did you see this posted yesterday by Dylan Hearn? https://authordylanhearn.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/a-year-of-paying-it-forward/

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 8, 2015

      Yes, I saw it! And I do believe it sold two copies of Yesterday Road in the UK!

      (Word of mouth, eh?)

  4. John W. Howell
    April 8, 2015

    Nice.

  5. kingmidget
    April 8, 2015

    Those unexpected reviews from a reader you don’t know are worth about 100 of the other kind of reviews. Congrats on this one.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 9, 2015

      Thanks. Pure candy!

      Hey, how was the Stagecoach trail? I researched it and saw it was basically straight up and straight down…

      • kingmidget
        April 9, 2015

        Didn’t go. Went in for my 50 year physical instead. I would have preferred the trail. I have heard the same thing about it but understand that it’s relatively short.

  6. 1WriteWay
    April 10, 2015

    Congratulations, Kevin!

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , .
