WHAT THE HELL

Kevin Brennan Writes About What It's Like

Eighteen

Eighteen, because that’s the number of reviews I need for Occasional Soulmates in order to qualify for a listing on Digital Books Today when I run a promotion in a few weeks.

One more review will do the trick, so if you’ve read Occasional Soulmates, consider posting a brief review in the next few days. Here’s the link to the book. If you’re a paperback lover, here’s where you can grab a copy if you haven’t read it yet!

I don’t know why DBT requires eighteen reviews. Probably because the average book has seventeen. Whatever the case, if you can do anything to help, I will sing your praises to all who will listen. And this is my last appeal for that one review. I know: it gets old.

As for Alice Cooper, for some reason I love watching him now even more than I did back in the day. There’s just something prescient about his act that predicted, or maybe even caused, the overblown spectacle thing in rock, making it almost impossible for a few dudes or dolls with guitars to simply stand up and play. Like the Germans used to shout at The Beatles in Hamburg, you now had to “mach schau!” Alice begat big hair, wild make-up, outrageous on-stage stunts, and  a persona that nothing to do with the guy putting it on.

Oh, and like another fellow who changed things up quite a bit, his real name is Vincent.

6 comments on “Eighteen

  1. 1WriteWay
    April 11, 2015

    You are so clever 😉 And Alice probably hadn’t seen 18 for quite a while when he did the song … but I love the guy … wait, I love the persona. Vincent is a whole other guy, as you note.

  2. pinklightsabre
    April 11, 2015

    I read somewhere recently the phrase “Alice Cooper eyes,” I think on blogland somewhere. Apt, right? In reference to wearing eye makeup and crying, I think. I like your comments about him and his prescience. I heard (it may be myth) that he did the whole rock thing as a bet with someone and that he was really a straight-laced guy. Good on him, I say. Many of our fantasies probably, to traipse around and scream like that and get paid for it. Why not.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 11, 2015

      I do recall something about him being just a Bud-swilling good old boy. But if so, he’s one with a really twisted imagination and a pretty good rock n’ roll singing voice. They had some great songs in the early days…

      • pinklightsabre
        April 11, 2015

        I should have a listen actually, thanks for the prompting Kevin!

  3. cinthiaritchie
    April 21, 2015

    Wish I could write a second review but people would probably notice, eh? Good luck–OS totally deserves a hundred more reviews. P.S. I listen to Alice Cooper’s radio show and he’s an amazingly articulate and well-rounded guy. Have me a bit of a radio crush on him, you see.

    • Kevin Brennan
      April 21, 2015

      Nothing to prevent Carla Richards from reviewing it, is there? 😜 I’d like to think she’s read it…

      I didn’t even know AC had a radio show! Can you catch it online, or is it strictly over the air?

Chime in

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2015 by in Music and tagged , , , .
